a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Real quick…

So, I made my “big” post of the day this morning, but I wanted to share a few experiences and thoughts from the day.

career thoughts

I’ve been working steadily on updating my teaching portfolio and resume for the coming school year. I’m really excited to step back into a classroom! While I’m hoping and praying for a teaching position this fall, I’m also looking at the Boston Teacher Residency program, a part of the Urban Teacher Residency national program. Gabe loves living in a city, and I don’t mind it, so I think going into a program that specializes in urban education, and provides dual licensure in SPED or ESL is on deck. Plus, in this economy, it would be foolish to put all my hopes on a regular classroom position. I’m looking into alternative routes to restarting my career. The program is a 3-year commitment. Through this program, I would earn the following:

  • Master’s degree from UMass Boston (MA #2 on deck?)
  • MA Initial Teacher License and dual licensure in SPED or ESL (this would be sweet!)
  • $11,800 stipend for living expenses (currently earning $0)
  • AmeriCorps Education Award for those eligible (need to figure out what this is)

I already have a MA degree, but getting a stipend, a dual licensure, networking in the Boston schools, and forgiveness of one-third of the program for each year I work in the system after would be well worth the time. I’m going to attend an information session at the beginning of February to learn more.

Alternately, I’m thinking about the Teach for America program. I know some people who have completed that program with great success following.

What do you think?


health thoughts

Stupid cold germs! Gabe was sick all last week with a cold and today it caught up with me. I didn’t notice it until about an hour ago when I woke up from an impromptu nap with a congested chest and nose. The last time I got viral/germ sick, I had to take a z-pack and get chest x-rays. Got to love asthma and allergies during cold season; every cold could be a knock-down drag out fight for health.

Further, I fell off the grain-free path today. I had a handful of gluten-free grain chips. Boy am I feeling it! My abdomen hates me right now. What better motivation to stay on the straight-and-narrow is there?

Other than the cold and abdominal discomfort, all is well. I’m going back to tweaking resumes and online teaching positions database profiles. I use School Spring and Teachers-Teachers, in addition to scouring Craigslist, Monster, and individual district/school websites. Do you teach? Are you applying for positions? What national or local databases do you use?

Leave a Reply

