a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Sunday mornings are the best.

Ahhh. Sunday morning. I love Sunday mornings. It’s the one day a week I allow myself to sleep in a smidge, and then read in bed first thing in the morning. It’s lovely.

DSCN8113

I ❤ breakfast now!

 

Once I got myself up and out, I turned my attention to breakfast. In days past, I would reach up over the refrigerator and pull down one of many boxes of cereal and shake some out into a bowl, plop on some blueberries or craisins, or both, and pour on some almond or coconut milk (my dairy milk days have long been over). Since the news from the doctor and personal discovery through trial-and-error that my body cannot process grains, I’ve had to change things up quite a bit.

I’ve been fully grain-free for a little under a week and I’ve realized just how common grains are in my, and most people’s, diet. Changing it up has been a creative challenge.

This morning I was prepared. Gabe and I sat down yesterday afternoon and planned out meals and snacks for the week and went grocery shopping. Pulling from those resources, I started the day with scrambled eggs, made with almond milk, and chopped red pepper, nitrate-free apple-wood smoked bacon, and green and red grapes. A breakfast like this far surpasses the ol’ cereal and almond milk of the past. Today is Sunday, however, and quite relaxed. What to do on the weekday mornings?

Luckily, as I’m presently not working, I have the chance to experiment. Ideas include chopping and prepping veggies on Sunday, or the evening before, for morning meals including sweet potatoes for home fries, peppers and other such veggies for omelets and frittatas, and making nut flour muffins. Do you have ideas for grain-free breakfast items? I’m creating a list of them to prevent frustration and backsliding. Further, do you have ideas for other grain-free meals? I am presently working on modifying traditional meat-based recipes (stews, for instance thickened with almond or coconut flour instead of wheat flour), but am looking for a variety of vegetable recipes that are tried and true. What are your favorites?

DSCN8111

Last night's delicious dinner: roasted chicken and carrots, mashed cauliflower, sweet potato and carrot soup.

 

Lunches and dinners are a little easier. Those meals are more traditionally based on healthy fats and proteins and lots of veggies. For instance, last night I roasted up a free-range organic chicken and served it with mashed cauliflower, roasted carrots, and my long-time favorite sweet potato and carrot soup. The chicken bones and bits are set aside to make chicken soup later today.

I really enjoyed the mashed cauliflower, by the way. I have the idea to make shepherd’s pie using it to replace mashed potatoes on top. The thought of this dish is making me hungry all over again!

veggies

All ready for the week!

 

Now that breakfast is out of the way, and veggies are peeled and chopped for the week, I can turn my attention to knitting the afternoon away.

I hope you have a fabulous Sunday spent the way you like them.

2 responses to “Sunday mornings are the best.

  1. LittleWit January 24, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    It is amazing how much grains are in everything isn’t it? Turns out things I didn’t even know were grains, like Tapioca, are in my food. 🙂 I don’t have any brilliant revelations for breakfast foods as I grew up on sausage and potatoes but I have definitely been eating a lot more vegetables in my other meals. Generally I eat a protein and two veggies. I am also trying to work cheese into more of our meals.

    • Jen January 24, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      Grains are everywhere! I’ve learned this as I’ve been reading labels to avoid gluten, as well as grain. It’s been quite the experience.

Leave a Reply

