a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

On Writing: Finding Inspiration.

When I was in kindergarten, whenever asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I always answered that I wanted to be a writer, a painter, a dancer, and a veterinarian. I danced. I wrote short stories and kept a journal, all of which was lost in subsequent moves. I drew. And I read about animals. My grandfather even sent me a birthday card that year with four panels:  a bunny doctor, a bunny dancer, a bunny painter, and a bunny writer. It’s stunning that he found it among the hundreds of cards available. I still draw on occasion; I dance when the spirit moves me; I love animals dearly. The passion to write, however, is still strong and drives me to do more.

I have notes in various forms for a few different stories I hope to do something with sometime soon. While working on this, I look to successful writers to draw wisdom and inspiration from them on the craft and process. Here two videos from TED with some of my favorite inspirational talks.


I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

2 responses to “On Writing: Finding Inspiration.

  1. Michelle Glauser January 21, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    You lost your writing during moves? That’s horrible! But then again, I guess it gives you a chance to take what you learned and write better things now without all the old clutter. I’ve got soooo many journals and old pages of writing and files and files on my computer, and I just don’t know what to do with it all. My goal is to have one of the books I’m writing done by the middle of January. It’s coming along, but here’s something surprising . . . I’m re-heartbroken as I write about a really old flame. How funny! Anyway, have a great one, Jen.

    • Jen January 21, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      Oh, yes. Re-experiencing through writing is hard and I have gone through that a few times. It makes for really good writing, though, if you can sit with it.

Leave a Reply

