a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

New Food Adventure


So, I just got a phone call and the conversation essentially went like this (creative license used liberally to condense):

Doc: “Full results are in. Grains are irritating your system. Stop eating them.”
Me: “Um, do you mean going gluten free?”
Doc: “Nope. Stop eating all grains, today if possible.”

Whelp, I guess it’s time I embrace this whole “no grain” thing. Good thing I was planning on having a salad for lunch and not a sandwich on that expensive gluten-free bread I bought this weekend.

On to a new food adventure.

Now what to do with that gluten-free but grain-filled banana bread sitting on my counter calling my name?

4 responses to “New Food Adventure

  1. LittleWit January 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Good luck with the grain free. I am on a month long fast from grains to break my addiction and I can’t tell you how much I want some of that cake sitting in my freezer right now. šŸ™‚ But this too shall pass.

    • Jen January 20, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      Thank you! I really shouldn’t complain. I had expressed the desire to do the Whole30 for January in which I went grain, dairy, and sugar free (even natural ones like maple syrup and honey). I balked after about ten days because of how foreign it was and challenging. At this point, I guess it’s “do or die,” in a sense. šŸ™‚

  2. maurabela January 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Pretty soon you won’t even miss them. I highly recommend the forums on http://www.marksdailyapple.com for support. People there are extremely helpful — I just got a tip for a natural UTI cure! The guy that runs the site is from Maine originally too šŸ™‚ I haven’t bought any of his books because I already understand the premise and you can find the basics of his “plan” on the site and in the forums. Best of luck and feel free to contact me for support/questions — I’ve been grain free for over a year now!

    • Jen January 20, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      Thanks! I’ll check out Mark’s Daily Apple now. I’ll be in touch, and probably posting here, about this whole grain-free thing.

Leave a Reply

