a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

I feel good! Wa-hoo!

I did not anticipate my Internet access cutting out for several days when I decided to blog every day. Oy! Whelp, we’ll just go on from here.

I’ve been feeling better lately. Much better.

It caught me off guard last week when I woke up and realized I didn’t feel nauseated. Then I realized that the pain in my upper abdomen was much lower on the pain scale than it had been in a year. I kept this knowledge to myself for a few days, afraid of jinxing it.

There’s no jinx. After over a year of misery and pain, of having no clue what made me so sick, I’m getting better!

All it took was taking gluten out of my diet. Wa-bam!

I am thrilled beyond belief. I am also bouncing off the walls with energy. I have not felt this good, well, probably ever! My depression is lessening, my body is feeling lighter and more energized, and my gut doesn’t hurt.

Hallelujah!!!

The last two weeks have proved my experiment hypothesis true. Now it’s just a matter of keeping it rolling. On Saturday I made gluten-free buckwheat pancakes (delicious!) and yesterday I made two loaves of GF banana bread. Gabe has been my “does this taste funny” tester and he can’t tell the difference. 🙂

Life is back to good.

So good, in fact, that I am chomping at the bit to get back in the classroom. I’ve pulled out the old teaching portfolio and have been updating the employment data, thinking of new units I can design to showcase the development of my philosophy and methods, and contemplating the application and interview madness that will begin in just a few short weeks. I’m so ready. Bring it!

This is going to be my year. 😀

P. S. Don’t forget about Michelle’s give-away!

4 responses to “I feel good! Wa-hoo!

  1. Michelle Glauser January 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I am so happy for you I could cry! Feeling better makes a difference in everything. You go kick butt! (And I bet those GF pancakes are to die for!)

    • Jen January 17, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Thank you, Michelle! If I wasn’t so busy catching up on things I let go while sick, I probably would cry from relief! It’s been a long, hard road to this point.

      I’ll be posting recipes for GF stuff, mostly for my sister’s sake (also gluten-intolerant, in her case, fully diagnosed Celiac), for everyone’s use and modification input.

  2. LittleWit January 18, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    So very glad to hear you are feeling better! What a relief it must be to have finally pinpointed the source of all your pain. Here’s to a great year for you!

Leave a Reply

