a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Austen Love. <3

When, and what, was your first introduction to Jane Austen? For me, I was staying with some family friends between my second and third year of undergrad. I’d picked up and tossed aside the novels a few times, heard lectures on it, and was told just how awesome the novels were, but I didn’t buy it.

Not until one rainy afternoon sitting on the couch knitting with my dear friend GF (name abbreviated for privacy). She loves Austen and had a huge collection of Austen film adaptations. That afternoon, for our movie selection, she chose “Pride and Prejudice“, the 1995 version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle.

I was hooked. I loved Elizabeth’s intelligence and wit. Her strength. And I loved the historical setting and the window into the past. Since then, I’ve devoured everything Austen, from the film adaptations, both old and new, to the cryptozoological novel adaptations like “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” (still working on that project – comparing original with c. versions).

The people over at Bitch Magazine love her, too, and wrote a really cool article on her and her rise to stardom.

Are you an Austen lover? Or not so much? Why? What about her and her novels do you love or not?

(There, two good posts to make up for missing one yesterday!)

4 responses to “Austen Love. <3

  1. Leanne January 5, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I love Austen. Hooked and hooked again.

  2. harmamae January 6, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I first read Pride and Prejudice in high school… stumbled over the difficult words but loved the plot anyways (I still think P&P is her best plotted work). Then, of course, I had to devour all the rest of her books, and the movies, and other authors’ re-creations of her books (none are as good as the original though).

  3. Kadollan January 8, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I think my first real brush with Austen was probably the movie adaptation of Sense and Sensibility with Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman, et al. I rather loved it. I’ve seen both the Kiera Knightley and the BBC versions of P&P — and I’ve just recently read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I confess, however, that I’ve never read one of Austen’s novels in it’s entirety. (As a former English major, I’m a little embarrassed about this.)

  4. Jen January 11, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks for your experiences! As English major and teacher, I love hearing people’s experiences with literature.

    I, too, am “guilty” of not having fully read an Austen book yet. I’m working on it, though! I just bought a beautiful box set of all of her novels and I hope to read them all by the end of the winter. Even though I haven’t read Austen, I’ve heard much of her in my literature courses and research on feminism and that time period in British literature. Fascinating stuff. =)

    I loved Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Kadollan. I also loved Little Women and Werewolves, and am currently reading Jane Slayre. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

