a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Greetings, December.

Is it really December?

That means my birthday is in a week. The (maternal side) family party is in a little over two weeks. Winter solstice is in twenty days. And then we usher in a new year in thirty.

We’re on the downward slide towards a new year. What have you accomplished this year?

I generally mark the year for goals and resolutions on my birthday. I have a week to reflect on the last year; to think about what went well and what didn’t go well; to identify the good things that entered my life and the bad things I ushered out; and to think about where I’d like to grow over the next year.

Last year, I set a simple goal:  to be mindful. I have a week to think on it.

In the meantime, allow me to fold you in to a conversation I’ve been having with a friend through her blog, Happy Beehive. Her new blog is designed to offer tips on green and mindful living, slices of her life, and inspiration on healthy eating, all while staying under budget as she is the new CEO of Domestic Affairs in her home. I love that title, by the way, Maurabela.

She’s offered tips on saving money and the planet by using different products to wash and condition hair, on cleaning stainless steel appliances, and on using what you have and planning effectively. Give her blog a look over. It’s fairly new (only a month or so old) but well worth reading.

Some recommendations we both share are using borax and washing soda for a variety of household cleaning tasks. Some tasks I’ve been able to green up and save up on are the following:

  • Use a 1:1 mixture of borax and washing soda as a replacement for dishwashing powder. I mix it up and put it in a used yogurt container. Use 2 tsp. per load.
  • Use a 1:1:1 mixture of borax, washing soda, and a bar of soap finely grated (Maurabela recommends Kirk’s Castile; I have used Fels Naptha and Ivory in the past but will be trying Kirk’s soon). Use 1 to 2 tbs. per load.
  • Use the 1:1 dishwashing mixture to make a paste for polishing stainless steel pots and pans. It also works wonders in the bathroom:  dissolve a scoop in a large spray bottle of warm water then spray down the shower and tub. Walk away to clean other things for a few minutes, then come back and sponge off.

Those are some of the uses for these products I’ve tried since moving in to our place in July. We’ve saved a bunch of money, our home is nice and clean (when I actually break myself away from knitting long enough to do it!), and it is green. And keep reading Maurabela’s Happy Beehive for more tips. She has a lot of good ones coming.

Speaking of knitting, I’m nearly done a project I have yet to mention on here. (EDIT:  Duh! Yes, I did. Yule Preparations.)

Through the Woods... by Kalurah Hudson (c) 2010.

I have the hood knitted and sewn, the ribbing around the face completed, and am now working on the button plackets. When done with that, it’s time to pick up stitches around the bottom for more ribbing, sew everything together, block, then go adventuring! I’m knitting this in the color “Toad” in City Tweed HW by Knit Picks.

That’s about it for now. Happy trails!

2 responses to “Greetings, December.

  1. maurabela December 1, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Thanks for the plug, Jen! Also, I am so in love with that hood! I can’t wait to see yours 🙂

    • Jen December 1, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      You’re welcome!

      I should have photos of the hood in the next day or two. I’ll be done knitting it today (if all goes to plan) and will block it. I figure photos will be up by the weekend.

Leave a Reply

