a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

A Swirl of Thoughts

The Peanuts gang has been singing to me at the back of my mind starting a few days ago. It’s true:  Christmas/Yule-time is here. I’m looking around for sustainable farms to pick up a tree, pulling out the decorations and getting ready to get in the spirit. The last few years, I’ve put the decorations up on my birthday in the second week of December. That usually allows me to enjoy them well through the New Year.

This year has been especially hard and I hope that the fresh scent of the tree and the bright lights help out. If you were around this past spring, you probably remember the few posts I put up regarding some pretty serious and scary health problems. Well, I haven’t written much about it since then, but they’re still there, wearing down my body and spirits. I still have no diagnosis, but I do have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. I’ll wait until I know for sure to say anything more.

The illness has given me plenty of time to knit, read, and catch up on classic films and contemporary television series. Notable bits:  Gabe and I are loving True Blood and The Vampire Diaries; I’m still working on the cryptozoological adaptation of classic novels project; Elisabeth Kubler-Ross fascinates and inspires me; I’ll never have enough books, wool, or time to consume them and I’m not sure how I feel about it.

On the knitting front, I finished the Sharfik for Bob, Gabe’s dad. True to form, I gave it to him before I got a finished object photo. You’ll have to enjoy this process photo:

I’m about 80 percent of the way through both reversible cable and lace scarves, mine and Jan’s, Gabe’s mom. I only have a photo of mine so far, but I did snap a few shots of the wool Jan will be wrapping around her neck soon!

I just put in an order for more wool and will soon cast on for some mittens and a sweater. Details to come.

That’s about it for now. I just wanted to poke my head out of the fog I’ve been in to say hello. I hope to write more soon.

2 responses to “A Swirl of Thoughts

  1. maurabela December 1, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I absolutely ADORE the lace scarf in the second picture!! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

