a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Yule Preparations

I’ve been coughing up my intestines for about nine days now, and felt crummy for about a week before that. It’s that time of year. I’ve been through more boxes of tissues than I’ve managed to keep track of. It’s been oh so fun.

While I’ve been sitting on the Queen Anne recliner in the living room working through my Netflix queue, I’ve been working on the reversible cable and lace scarf in Frog Tree Alpaca (fingering weight). I love the pattern. After about five inches, I memorized the eight rows (four really, as on the second row four, you cable twist and that’s the only difference) and it’s knitting up fast. I just attached the second skein and will probably be through it by the end of the day tomorrow. Photos to come.

 

Image from Knit Picks for City Tweed in Porpoise

 

I’ve had time to think about Yule and what to make for people. So far, I’ve decided on making Grumperina’s Sharfik for Gabe’s dad in Knit Picks City Tweed Porpoise. This trusty pattern has been a go-to project for gifts and swaps since I first discovered it in 2006 or 2007. Nearly everyone I love has a Sharfik, except Gabe’s dad, and I’m about to rectify that.

 

Image from Knit Picks for Shadow in Sunset Heather

 

For Gabe’s mom, one of my favorite people on the planet and one of the most beautiful women I’ve ever met, I am torn between making the cable and lace pattern that I’m currently working on, or making the Traveling Roses pattern. Both are beautiful and would be wonderful as gifts. The Traveling Roses would be a new pattern for me, and a lot more lace than I’ve ever knit before and on very small (Am. size 2) needles, whereas the cable and lace is knit up on size 8 and I’m already through 2 feet of the first version of the pattern after a day and a half of knitting. I’ll have to think on it. I’ll be making her scarf out of Knit Picks Shadow in Sunset Heather.

 

Image from Knit Picks for City Tweed HW in Toad

 

Knit Picks has a special offer on purchases:  spend $50 or more on products and get free shipping. I’d rather spend the money on yarn than on shipping any day! I rounded off the order to $55 by adding some Knit Picks City Tweed HW in Toad to make Through the Woods by WhileTheyPlay on Ravelry. The pattern, from what I can tell, is only available on Ravelry for viewing and purchase.

 

Through the Woods by While They Play (Ravelry)

 

That’s what I’ve been up to on the knitting front.

I’ve also been busy around the house “greening” up the place. I recently swapped from natural versions of glass and surface cleaner found at stores to plain and simple vinegar. It has done an amazing job! And I’m saving bundles.

Today, after running out of laundry detergent, I decided to take the plunge I’ve been on the edge of for years and I prepared to make my own laundry powder. I had two bars of Ivory soap left over from a four-pack I bought the first day we had the apartment. Those are finely shaved using my trusty standing grater and a mixing bowl. Tomorrow I will add the borax and washing soda to finish off the laundry powder. I’ll report back on how it works for us and any adjustments I make.

The recipe I’m following is simple:  1 cup washing soda, 1 cup borax, and 1 bar of soap (Fels Naptha, Ivory, etc) grated. Mix. Mix. Mix. Then the washing powder (should) fit in a 32 oz. yogurt cup. From here, simply add 1 tbs. (or two for heavily soiled loads) to your machine as it’s filling up. I’ve read that this recipe also works for high efficiency (HE)/front load washers as it is low suds which the machines require.

I’ve also been planning and scheming for the scary movies night at my place coming up on Oct. 23 with Shana and Tim. I’m keeping those details under my hat for now, though, since they may be reading this and I want to keep it a surprise. 🙂

3 responses to “Yule Preparations

  1. Michelle Glauser October 13, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Just look at this cold as a great opportunity to get a lot of knitting done! Yay! (But I still hope you get better soon. What a stubborn cold.)

    • Jen October 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks, Michelle. I hope this cold, or whatever it is, goes away soon, too! I had a chest x-ray on Tuesday and that came back normal. I’m waiting to hear back on my blood work.

      In the meantime, I’m having so much fun planning and scheming knitting projects. I posted the stuff for Gabe’s parents because I know they don’t read the blog. I’m keeping the other projects a secret for now. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Greetings, December. « a black sheep in boston

Leave a Reply

