a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Discovering Home, Pt. II.

For the first part of the journey, please read Discovering Home. This post is a continuation of the tale.

The rusty stairs covered with pigeon excrement and feathers on A Street filled me with the familiar panic as I climbed one step at a time. Bridges, windows or decks on even the second floor, and ladders shake me at the very core. Up I went with my heart pounding. A year ago, I probably would have turned around at the sight of the stairs and abandoned the mission. But today, the need to follow this through, and the strength I’ve gained from grappling with this fear head on gave me the strength to continue.

When I reached Summer Street at the top of the stairs, it was as though I had passed through a secret portal and Bonnie had given me the password I needed. The old brick buildings whispered their welcome and impressed me with their history. Across the way was 300 Summer St and Channel Cafe, the home of many of the Fort Point artists. I knew it by the rusted metal awning.

After my previous essay on orange, I’ve noticed it everywhere! There was a painting in the Made in Fort Point store that I stood in front of for an indeterminate time, drawn to the orange. Royal Fruit, the painting is titled if I remember correctly. Red, too, has been a magnet. In the Fort Point store, I found these amazing ladybug earrings made by Linda Huey. Red.

By Linda Huey. Photograph from her website http://www.lindahuey.com

I saw the earrings, displayed with other works by Huey, all of them amazing!, and immediately picked them up, knowing they were to come home with me. I had always been followed by the ladybug, perhaps best known as the emblem of luck and also a symbol of love. Asian traditions hold to the belief that if caught and then released, the ladybug will faithfully fly to your true love and whisper your name in his/her ear.  Upon hearing the ladybug’s message, your true love will hurry his/her way to your side. Ancient farmers considered the ladybug a good omen as she controls aphid populations. The number of spots on a ladybug’s back is said to indicate the number of months to pass before the wish for love comes true. Every previous “home”, whether my abode or spiritual/creative home, that has ever provided healing, health, opportunity, and love, has also been the home of ladybugs.

Upon seeing the earrings, not only did I note the beauty and whimsy of the piece, but I took heed of the message. I had found home. Not only have I noticed ladybugs around my new abode, but I had found them in the middle of my neighborhood in a permanent artistic rendition that I now wear proudly on my ears.

With the earrings on, I walked in the front door of 300 Summer Street, down the stairs into Channel Cafe, and sat down, under the spell of the muse, the Goddess, whomever had led me to this place. To that spirit, I offer my deepest thanks.

I loved it. I loved the exhibit. I loved the food. I loved the atmosphere. I had found, at last, the place where I can sit and write and study the work of artists who are also my new neighbors.

More on the discovery of home to come. Next installment on my exploration of Central Square.

2 responses to “Discovering Home, Pt. II.

  1. LittleWit September 28, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I am glad to hear you’ve found a place to be your new home. May it bring you more inspiration than you know what to do with. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « a black sheep in boston

Leave a Reply

