a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Book Notes


With all this time on my hands, I’ve done a lot of reading and book collecting lately. I’ve made some progress on my cryptozoological adaptations of classics, but not enough to really get going on that project. This post is entirely dedicated to my reading adventures of the last two months. These are not formal reviews, just a few notes, thoughts, and comments.

Recent Additions to my Personal Library:

  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being. Milan Kundera. [ISBN 0-06-015258-3]
  • Heavy Words Thrown Lightly:  The Reason Behind the Rhyme. The seamy and quirky stories behind favorite nursery rhymes. Chris Roberts. [ISBN 1-592-40130-9]
  • The Wheel of the Year:  Living the Magical Life. Pauline Campanelli. Illustrations by Dan Campanelli. [ISBN 0-87542-091-5]
  • Plant Dreaming Deep. May Sarton. [ISBN 0-393-30108-7]
  • The Wheel of Life:  A Memoir of Living and Dying. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, M. D. [ISBN 0-684-19361-2]
  • Let the Right One In. John Ajvide Lindqvist. [ISBN 0-312-35529-7]
  • Haunted. Chuck Palahnkiuk. [ISBN 978-1400032822]

Book Notes:

The Waste Lands, The Dark Tower, Book III. Stephen King. [ISBN 0-452-26740-4]

As an undergraduate English student at the University of Maine, the alma mater of this author, I purposely chose not to read any of King’s work until I had graduated. I read a few of his novels in high school in secret as it was against the values of the faith my parents raised me in.

This past spring I began reading the Dark Tower novels and immediately understood why fans were, besides the obvious concerns of the author’s life, upset about King’s accident in ’99. They were concerned that the story of Roland and Jake wouldn’t be finished. With a quick google search, I just learned that King is to write a new novel for the series, The Wind Through the Keyhole, that will take place between book four and five.

Okay, so what do I think of the books? I love them. I love the simplicity of the language and the depth of meaning conveyed. The movement between worlds, the ways in which we understand our world, and how we create reality are some of the concepts I’ve ruminated on after putting the books down for the night. I’m in the middle of book three of what is currently a seven book series. I’ll wait to say more when I get further in.

Ahab’s Wife, or, The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund. [ISBN 0-688-17187-7]

I can never leave this novel on the shelf for very long before I pull it out to read a passage or two again. This book has spoken to me, as a young woman, as a divorcee, as a reader, as a writer, as a New Englander, and a lover of the inspiration for the novel, Moby Dick. I’ve had to resist the urge to read it again cover-to-cover as my pile of books to read for the first time is growing exponentially.

That’s it for book notes for now. I have nibbled on the others listed here, and on various others on my shelves, but haven’t had enough of a taste to write to them in any substantial way.

However, here is a teaser! Photograph of some of my recent acquisitions.

Leave a Reply

