a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Wake Up Call

I am not a happy camper this morning. I didn’t make it to morning ritual today with Jen or my appointment with Dr. Nick. Why? Well, because of a medication prescribed to me that ended up messing me up. I haven’t been able to eat much or keep much down in about four weeks now due to nausea/vomiting and also incredible pain when I do eat or drink. I was having a little success eating and keeping food down when I had vicodin in my system but it made me loopy. So, last night, after a long discussion with the pharmacist about the medication, I took one of the anti-nausea meds.

Within 20 minutes my vision was blurred. My speech was slurred. My limbs were numb.

After an hour, it was as if I had been taking vodka shots for a few hours.

By the time Gabe arrived last night, I was toasted.

The effects of the medication were strong and lasted a long time. I didn’t regain clear vision until about an hour ago. And I’m still shakey and weak from it.

No wonder the pharmacist said, “no driving, no working, no nothing.”

Yeah, she’s got that right. No more pharmaceuticals unless I will, no questions asked, die if I don’t take it.

2 responses to “Wake Up Call

  1. Michelle Glauser April 24, 2010 at 4:48 am

    I just realized you might like these videos. They’re from my brother-in-law. I think there are six parts. You should be able to find the other parts from part I.

    Enjoy! I found them inspiring.

  2. Black Sheep April 24, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Thank you, Michelle. I’m listening to them now.

Leave a Reply

