a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Whittling Down

I just looked at a calendar. The race I promised I’d run with Amy, y’know, that 10k that I made a training schedule for MONTHS ago, is coming up QUICK. It’s February 28th in Hyannis. I better get my butt moving.

That said, I got a gym pass last night. I had been planning on getting one for a while, but I wasn’t sure if I’d stay in the area I’m in, if the membership would transfer if I did move, and I wasn’t sure how I’d scrape together the cash for initiation fee and first month membership on my already bare-bones budget. After months of discussion, Gabe and I finally decided to stay in Salem when we get a place of our own later in the spring. Yay! So there’s that. Plus I got two unexpected checks which covered first month membership fee AND the initiation fee since the local YMCA is running a new member promotion. Score.

So that means I have no excuses anymore for not running. Not that I was seeking them out. They found me. They were things like “slippery out”, and “below 30 degrees”, and “let’s go grab a coffee!”. You know, legit stuff that takes up a lot of time and energy.

No more excuses!

I’m going to the gym right after school today and will run a few miles and do weight training. And then after that, I plan on going to the gym in the morning before work. Why not, after all, when I don’t have to be at my desk until 8:15 and I live walking distance to both the gym and my workplace? Again, no excuses!

I’ve written a little bit about weight concerns. I’m not huge. Not at all. But I’m not at my best or most flattering weight either. I finally weighed myself (something I generally don’t do since the numbers are essentially meaningless – it’s about FITNESS and HEALTH and WELL-BEING not a number on a scale). I weighed in at 146 lbs. Last winter, at my heaviest (depressed, overeating, generally MISERABLE), I was at 151. If you remember the story, I dropped weight quickly and landed at 128. That’s because my body ate up all my muscles because I wasn’t eating. At my fittest, meaning running 4+ miles, eating well, and feeling HOT, I’m generally between 135 and 140. So I’m only off my ideal weight of about 138ish by 8 lbs. Easy-peasy to take off when done right.

The Y I joined has a TON of free group fitness classes to attend in the evening, plus walking to work (getting back in that habit), and running in the morning. I’ll get there.

So that’s the goal. I will do strength training in the weight room to build my lean muscles back up and run to develop my endurance for the road races. And do classes to keep my motivation up. I’ll be back to PHAT in a matter of 4-6 weeks! In other words, rockin’ for the race!

3 responses to “Whittling Down

  1. Jen January 7, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    You can DEFINITELY do it Jen!! I have all the faith in the world that you can 🙂

  2. Leanne January 9, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    phlllssspphhh***** that’s me spitting on your tiny little weight problem! 😛 (because I just started running again and trying to get off 3 births worth of weight…) P.S. you can do it! and so can I!!!

Leave a Reply

