a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

One Goal. One Purpose. One Mind.

I spend a lot of time thinking about self-improvement, eco-ethical decisions, and how to best make every day better than the one before for me and those in my life and community. This past month, starting on my birthday, I began meditating and journaling on the year past and the year to come in preparation for my new year resolutions. And this year, I have just one goal. Just one.

Be mindful.

Of my emotional, mental, spiritual, and physical well being. Of my relationships. Of my impact on my community. Of my impact on the planet.

One goal. Multiple beneficiaries.

This one goal breaks down into many little steps. I am taking one small step in January that I hope will be the foundation:  to meditate and stretch every morning before I do anything else. I haven’t thought out the steps for the rest of the year. I figure that will come with the meditation and daily mantras.

3 responses to “One Goal. One Purpose. One Mind.

  1. Jenna January 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Have you read any of Thich Nhat Hahn’s writings? His primary focus is on mindfulness. I’ve been inspired by him on countless occasions in the past year.

  2. Black Sheep January 1, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I have about four of his books and read them all! I *love* his work. I also enjoy Pema Chodron. And of course, the Dalai Lama himself. I’m also working on rereading these works, spending a little time each day with one of these authors and inspirations. =)

  3. Michelle Glauser January 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    I like this idea. Sigh. If only I had motivation for something like that.

Leave a Reply

