a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Library Love

Libraries, simply put, are magical. You walk in empty handed and with a soul seeking something, and you walk out with portals through which answers come.

I’ve been at the public library twice this past week, each time leaving with an armful of books. I don’t actually expect to read them all, but I do expect to peek through some and fully explore others. Either way, these books will leave traces of their influence.

Currently home with me:

  • The Complete Poems of Marianne Moore, with selected translations from The Fables of La Fontaine.
  • The Goddess is in the Details:  Wisdom for the Everyday Witch. Deborah Blake.
  • The Extraordinary Healing Power of Ordinary Things:  Fourteen Natural Steps to Health and Happiness. Larry Dossey, M. D.
  • Partners in Recovery:  How Mates, Lovers  & Other Prosurvivors Can Learn to Support & Cope with Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse. Beverly Engel, M. F. C. C.
  • Will and the Word:  How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare. Stephen Greenblatt.
  • Soul Murder:  The Effects of Childhood Abuse and Deprivation. Leonard Shengold, M. D.
  • Finding Courage to Speak:  Women’s Survival of Child Abuse. Paige Alisen.
  • Healing the Child Within:  Discovery and Recovery for Adult Children of Dysfunctional Families. Charles L. Whitfield, M. D.
  • In Defense of Food:  An Eater’s Manifesto. Michael Pollan.
  • Confessions of an Economic Hit Man. John Perkins.
  • The Year of Magical Thinking. Joan Didion.

Wow. Really? I didn’t realize how many books came home with me until I listed them out!

6 responses to “Library Love

  1. leah September 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    In high school I worked at the public library. It was always interesting and fun to explore all the books while working!

  2. Black Sheep September 22, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I have dreams where I work at a library simply so I can absorb the books by osmosis. I love Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart, Inkspell, and Inkdeath books because they capture the feeling of truly loving and living a book.

  3. Kirsten September 22, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    You will ADORE the year of magical thinking. One of my favorite books of all time. So insightful. So well written. I am happy just thinking about it. Even though the topic of the book is very, very sad.

  4. Black Sheep September 22, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks, Kirsten, for the review! I guess I know what I’m taking to bed tonight. =)

  5. Black Sheep September 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I am already halfway through “Magical Thinking”!

  6. LittleWit October 27, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I don’t know how I would function without our public library system. It was the only thing I missed when I moved out of state 😉 Ok maybe not the only thing, but it was definitely the most missed thing outside of family members and loved ones.

Leave a Reply

