a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Keeping Busy

Do you ever get to the point where you have so much to say but you just don’t know where to begin so you don’t say anything at all? Yeah. That’s today.

I was inspired to post something by catching up on the blogs of friends and favorite writers. Having a community and support network is so important.

Looking around my room, I see stacks and shelves of books everywhere:  four books that have to go back to the library (added to the to-do list), a bunch of books I’m working with to keep my professional skills sharp (no one likes an English teacher with sloppy grammar and a poor vocabulary!), and then a huge stack of books I’m in the middle of.

I always get motivated to make things happen in the fall. Summer is so lazy and nebulous. I feel like I’m in a daze all the time. But fall. Oh autumn. Everything becomes clear and crisp, even my goals and dreams.

So, one of the things I’m going to do to harness this energy is to give myself a little challenge (I love challenges!) and make a list of books and crafting projects I want to finish before the end of October. Why October? Because November has a challenge of it’s own:  NaNoWriMo! Woot!

So! Books! Some of these books I’ve read before but want to read again. Some of them are new recommendations. And some have been on my reading list for freaking ever. In no particular order, the book list is as follows:

  • Ahab’s Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (a recommendation and loan by a friend)
  • Redwall by Brian Jacques
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker (I read it every October)
  • Tess of the d’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy (been wanting to read for a while)
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (old favorite)

It’s a big list, and a lot of heavy hitters, but I can do it. I’m an English major, after all! 🙂

As for crafting projects, I want to finish:

  • the hemlock sweater to give to Lilith
  • the Opal socks I started for me this past spring
  • socks for AT that I started in the spring as well
  • “Cthulhu sez” cross-stitch
  • my brown sweater
  • and get a good start on one of my lacy scarves that I have tucked away in my stash

That’s a good size list and one that will keep me occupied for quite some time. I’ll post progress updates from time to time.

2 responses to “Keeping Busy

  1. Michelle Glauser September 20, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I’m glad you’ve opened up your blog. I wonder if my thesis helped with that at all? Ha ha. That’s giving me way too much credit. But I didn’t know you’re an English major. That’s great. I also majored in English, and I also have a never-ending list of books to read and things to finish.

  2. Black Sheep September 21, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Yep! English major and now an English teacher. My book list grows larger and larger each passing day. I’ve given up ever trying to conquer it. =)

Leave a Reply

