a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Home

“Some other places were not so good but maybe we were not so good when we were in them.” Ernest Hemingway.

I’ve been talking a lot about the concept of home lately. I have another aspect of home to talk about:  being homesick!

I love it here in the North Shore, don’t get me wrong. Love it. I love the commons. I love the cafes and how close I am to Boston. These are the things I wanted when I moved here. Now that I’m here, I miss Maine. A lot.

One of my favorite things to gripe about when I was in Maine was how much the state was lacking, and how we couldn’t wait to leave. Now that I’m gone, I see more clearly the good of the state. And not just the state, but of me in the state.

When it comes down to it, home is something you carry with you much like a snail carries its shell.

I’ve been homesick the last week. I’ve found aspects of home here in the north shore, but not the whole package. I thought I did a few weeks ago, but a recent trip to the Augusta area revealed to me that much of my heart is still 150 miles north of here, and I have more settling into myself and healing to do before home is truly found.

2 responses to “Home

  1. Michelle Glauser September 20, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    You know, I’ve also thought about home a lot. When people here ask me when I’m going home, I get really annoyed. I feel like I’m not welcome where I feel at home. Because to me, Leipzig is home. Just because I’m not married doesn’t mean that my parents’ house is my home. I will always have a special feeling for the city I grew up in, but I don’t feel like I could move back there, which definitely doesn’t fit the idea of home. But then I wonder, will people ever see me as being at home here?

  2. Black Sheep September 21, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I’ve come to think of home as something a person carries with them and can leave bits of, without losing, in places to make return to that space joyous.

Leave a Reply

