a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Riiiiiiiiiip.

I began a counted cross-stitch today. It’s simple enough, a few veggie motifs and lettering. Far simpler than previous projects I’ve worked on. I’ve started it over three times so far.

Ugh.

Problem 1:  the directions call for 22 count aida cloth. Couldn’t find 22 count. So I bought 28. Those boxes are so incredibly small! And I’m both near- and far-sighted.

Problem 2:  it isn’t just cloth, it’s linen and the boxes are stiff enough that you can see through the fabric when pressed out on a table. Which means that all those knots and snarls are visible. Double-ugh.

Good thing I have a seam ripper and plenty of floss. Who’da thunk such a simple little project to grace my kitchen would cause such frustration? I remind myself that it is a good skill builder (how to keep floss untangled in the back) and opportunity to learn patience (by not throwing my project across the room and throwing a 2-year old tantrum).

2 responses to “Riiiiiiiiiip.

  1. leah September 11, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    thanks for your kind comments on my blog! I am glad to find your new blog…I meant to email you and forgot….so I’m glad you reminded me 🙂

  2. habitsofamouse September 12, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I also do counted cross stitch. In retrospect, I probably should have started with stamped. :-p the best piece of advice I can give you is to work in time frames. A half hour here or there. Otherwise, you will be squinting something fierce for a couple days.

Leave a Reply

