a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Autumn has found me at Home.

I am comforted sitting at the kitchen table with a cup of coffee, laptop inches away, by the crisp, cold air. The crinkle of leaves in this chill breeze are a sure sign that not only autumn, but winter, is on it’s way. The time of year when wool and wood have great importance in sustaining and comforting life. It is time to start gathering in the bounty of summer’s growing season, return to the roots, and gather strength for the next season of growth.

Next to me is a softcover of Ahab’s Wife, or, The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund. I can’t recall how many times I’ve read this novel. The first five chapters are as familiar to me as the inner chambers of my mind. As a matter of fact, the words have merged into my thought patterns. I have been reading almost exclusively from this novel since relocating and beginning my life anew.

The salt in the air of this city and the novel converge and I echo Una’s revelation:  I have found the home, finally, of my soul. My body has set down roots in this sea port steeped in history, my toes reaching deep into the earth and gripping the rich soil, drawing nutrients in to replenish the long-starved limbs.

I am home at long last.

One response to “Autumn has found me at Home.

  1. Emily September 7, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    So beautiful a reflection; I can almost smell the Autumn air around you through your descriptions. You are as marvelous as your writing; I am glad you’ve found your home.
    EJM

Leave a Reply

