a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

It's a Miracle!

Why yes, I am still alive. 🙂

I’ve missed you all. Really, I have. I have missed the love and support that this unique online community of bloggers provides. I will soon catch up with everyone. Promise! In the meantime, allow me an opportunity to share my recent adventures.

Oh, dear readers, much have I to say and to share. Where to begin? My story is a “…long story, and like most stories in the world, never finished. There was an ending–there always is–but the story went on past the ending–it always does” (Jeanette Winterson, Lighthousing, 11).

This year is one of endings and new beginnings. It is a year of stripping down to the core to rebuild stronger and more attuned to my life goals and mission. Since my last post, much has changed and developed. Allow me to give a quick tour of the new furnishings.

After my obligations to Monmouth Academy were met, I moved to Salem Massachusetts where I live in a large and spacious house with four other people. When I was first considering living arrangements, I was quite certain that living alone would be best. But I fell in love with the house and the inhabitants. This house has amazing energy and we are all so supportive of each other. I could not imagine living anywhere else. I am walking distance to the train, to down town, and to my friends’ homes. I could not ask for more.

I’ve been visiting the Boston area since early spring to spend time with a good friend who supported me during my transition after separating from Allan. This friend showed great love and compassion, and introduced me to one of his friend’s, who has become a bedrock in my life. Shana, thank you.

Honestly, things are still working their way through. Transitions and endings are rarely simple. And I’m lucky that this one is as easy as it is. The divorce papers just went in. My name will be changing soon, but not to my maiden. I’m still looking for a job. But, all things in time. Everything you need. I have faith that my hard work and dedication to seeking employment will produce results.

Through all of this, I have kept my chin up. How, I don’t know. I am so tired all the time. I feel battered and bruised. But I find it within me to smile. To love. To encourage those around me. By lifting up someone else, I can’t help but lift up myself.

And I’m ready for my new life. I really am. I have embraced these changes and have come to love the new people in my life, continue to love the people who have always been there, and have come to love this new and strange environment that is Massachusetts. I am moving out of the woods though it still seems dark. “We are lucky, even the worst of us, because daylight comes” (Jeanette Winterson, Lighthousing, 9). This world is a wondrous place, scary and dark at times, but wonderful none-the-less!

I wish you well, my friends. Good night.

(P. S. This is a sloppy post:  there was no editing prior to publishing. I simply wanted to break the silence. More will come soon to fill in the gaps in this post.)

3 responses to “It's a Miracle!

  1. habitsofamouse July 25, 2009 at 6:23 am

    It wasn’t a sloppy post, love. In fact, I’d say it’s one of the most truest, from-the-heart ones I’ve read from you in a while. 🙂

  2. allison July 25, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I’ve been wondering about you! I’m so glad things have made a turn for the positive. Salem is a beautiful place.

  3. LittleWit July 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

    It’s good to hear you are doing alright. I hope employment finds you soon!

Leave a Reply

