a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Beer was invented for days like today.

my daffodils are smiling!

my daffodils are smiling!

Momma said there’d be days like this. There’d be days like this my momma said. And boy was she right. Settle in and let me tell you the story of this fine day. (Today’s post contains two un-bleeped curse words. If such things offend you, I’m sorry; providing the warning so you can stop reading if you wish — they’re both in the next paragraph.)

It all started when I bolted awake at 7:10 this morning. Shit! I thought. I raced down stairs, took a 2 min. shower, and then was in my car speeding towards the school that is conveniently 2.4 miles away. On a normal school day, I’ve been at my desk for about an hour by this time. I made it through the door to my open room with my homeroom students seated just as the first bell rang. Phew! I thought. Someone opened my room for them. And then I saw the vice-principal sitting at my desk. The grey streaks at his temples drew attention to the firm set of his face and stiffness of his posture. Aw fuck.

He didn’t say a word though! Not one word. He just stood up, fixed his eyes on the space just over my head, and walked out. Today’s foul up came at just the right time:  I had gone to bat against him the previous day and won. I’m not exactly on his A-list right now.

The second bell rang and the classes switched. Not only did my tardiness cause the VP to be disgruntled, but it also caused me to not have my materials, namely the next book for my applied senior class. Feeling totally defeated already, as the students witnessed the departure of the VP as they were coming in, I readily admitted to the class that I didn’t have the materials for the new unit and so we were going to work on a long-term project they complete every quarter with a due date fast approaching. This was not the best way to greet this class on the first day back from break when all they can think about is graduation and how to do as little as possible and still pass to get there. I was fighting 18-year old grease monkeys over reading choices (or lack thereof) for 80 minutes. Oi vey! Pass the Excedrin.

Luckily I had remembered to bring in the tin of instant coffee drink mix. Just add hot water. And I had plenty of it after that class.

To make matters even more interesting, it was close to, if not over, 90 degrees in my classroom. Excellent.

I managed to find legitimate excuses to take the remainder of my classes outside. Thank the god of your choice for “Birches” by Robert Frost and Thoreau’s Walden and their blessed place in the American literature canon.

The students were moderately on-task in the sunshine induced sleepy-state they were in while reviewing and discussing the pieces. We were all far more interested in the vitamin D, though. I came home a touch rosy but am optimistic that it will turn bronze by morning; just in time for the 10-day forecast of cooler weather. Double excellent.

I came home. Opened the fridge. Grabbed a Labatt and plopped myself right in the middle of the daffodil bed.

4 responses to “Beer was invented for days like today.

  1. LittleWit April 29, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Ouch! Rough start to the day. It sounds like it ended well though.

  2. Patty April 29, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Wow, Jen, so much has changed in your life since I’ve been able to catch up with you! Whew, what a day you had indeed. It sounds like you managed to get it under control gracefully though! Take care of yourself and, despite my lack of contact, know that I do think of you often (and am VERY jealous that you’re able to run as I totally cannot right now!).

  3. Pingback: Star Gazing « The Life of a Busy Little Bee

  4. Jen May 1, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Indeed, much has changed, but for the better. I’m in control despite the sheer volume and intensity of the changes going. I am master and commander and I have chosen this path. I am trying to make a conscious effort to stay with my process, to accept it, and to allow it to take whatever shape it needs to take in order to hone me and refine me into the best possible version of myself.

Leave a Reply

