a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Back at it and Surviving Singledom

Today was my first day in my classroom in 10 days. I love the school calendar! And, I have another 8 weeks of school (3 with seniors) until I have 10 weeks off. Most excellent.

Being the newly (nearly) single woman I am, I took advantage of the full bed to myself and slept in to 8 (yikes!) each morning during break. It was wonderful but it made waking at 5 am and being in my classroom at 6 am a bit difficult. I was craving coffee all morning and had none. That’s what really sucked. But, I solved the problem by picking up a tin of the General Foods International coffee drink mix in Cafe Vienna flavor. Yum. Not nearly as good as brewed coffee, but it totally works.

I’ve taken advantage of my singledom to teach myself to be a better chef and to eat healthier. I get to buy the groceries now, after all. I’ve discovered that I enjoy grocery shopping and putting the groceries away, especially since that now entails chopping and slicing and freezing into Jen-sized packages. I’ve been buying colored bell peppers whenever they go on sale and that has saved me a ton of money on groceries already because instead of buying them when I want to cook with them and then using all of the peppers in a single meal, they’re chopped up and frozen and find their way into several meals. I’ve also purchased flats of chicken when it is at or under $1.79 a pound, slice the breast into thirds and freeze the thirds in snack-sized bags placed in a quart-sized freezer bag. I have sixteen pieces of chicken that will make 2 meals each in the freezer. That’s 32 meals for $8 worth of chicken. Not bad.

One thing I told myself I would not do now that I’m single is to skimp and cheat on meals, meaning that I will not get lazy simply because I’m cooking for one. In keeping to that promise to myself, here is tonight’s dinner:

Chicken Parmesan and Fettucini Alfredo

Chicken Parmesan and Fettucini Alfredo

Overall, I enjoy being single again. I enjoy having the time to do Jen-things and to simply enjoy not being frazzled and stressed. But, six years is a long time and I have been missing the companionship, not the person, the companionship. That’s part of the reason I want a dog so much:  constant companionship and I can tell her to lay down when I need to get stuff done. 🙂

3 responses to “Back at it and Surviving Singledom

  1. LittleWit April 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Your post is making me hungry! 🙂 I need to get back in the kitchen.

  2. Holly April 28, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I can already tell the difference that deciding to be on your own has had on you. Your posts seem so much happier, so freer (is that even a word?). It’s great to see you find joy in things again. And you are so much better than me; I don’t think I would cook if it was just me. :p

  3. habitsofamouse April 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    One freezing in small portions: if you buy the Ziploc freezable/microwave containers and wrap meat in wax paper, it’s so much more earth-friendly! We do this with a lot of our meats. Plus, you don’t have a ton of bags jumping out of the freezer at you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

