a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Recent Developments

As you can imagine, a lot of changes have been happening in the space between this and last post; most of the changes were happening within.

I’m not going into the details of the separation or why I chose to move on, but I will tell you this:  it was the best decision I have ever made. I feel free. I feel alive. I’m beginning to live the life I always wanted to but couldn’t because of the rut my relationship was in for years.

In the last month I got back on the road running and biking (and dropped 17 lbs.), I kicked my professional life up a few notches, became a road warrior after buying a car,  cut and highlighted my hair, and bought a few new things for my wardrobe. Yes, perhaps a little too much for the wallet in the recession, but I still have plenty of money to pay my bills and I plan on getting a second job with all this free time that opened up for me. I am not a new woman, I am the woman I always meant to be but haven’t been.

Some of the big things coming around the corner for me are getting a new teaching job and moving (hopefully out of Maine) and when my finances are settled and recovered I’m going to get a dog. Not just any dog though, a gorgeous Weimaraner.

Aww!

Aww!

I’ve always wanted one but my ex didn’t. Phooey on him! I don’t have to worry about his thoughts on the matter any more! I’ve loved Weims for as long as I can remember and they are the perfect breed for my active lifestyle. We’ll keep eachother outside and enjoying life! 🙂

That’s all for now. I just wanted to give everyone a head’s up on what I’ve been up to. I’ll do a more in-depth report of some of my shenanigans soon. 🙂

6 responses to “Recent Developments

  1. TK April 22, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks for the update. It’s nice to hear that you’re doing well–it’s obvious not only in your words but in the tone of the post. I hope things keep improving for you.

  2. Samantha April 22, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Good for you! It sounds like you are empowering your life and that’s fabulous!

  3. Holly April 22, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I remember the feeling just like it was yesterday when I decided to divorce my ex. It was like this huge load had been lifted off my shoulders. It felt soooo good. HA HA! Is that terrible of me? I am so glad to hear that things are going well for you and that you are becoming the woman that you were meant to be. Things are on YOUR terms now and isn’t it wonderful? You will not regret the decision to get a dog, though. That too will also be one of the best decisions you have ever made. 🙂

  4. Laurie April 23, 2009 at 12:17 am

    It is good to see you checking back in. Be that woman! Enjoy that freedom! Self discovery and healing have many, many faces. Gorgeous post!

  5. Jen April 23, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    It’s great to be back! Thanks for all the support you have each shown over the year(s)!

  6. Russ May 15, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    You got a handsome dog there!

Leave a Reply

