a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Content

a view from the living room door

a view from the living room door

I haven’t posted in forever. Part of the reason is because I’ve been in a rut and the other part is because once I got out of the rut, I was simply content with nothing major to report.  Then today, in the 43 degree weather that allowed me to open up all the windows and doors to air out the house and sit on the front steps, I realized that contentment is just as worth to write about as everything else.

So there you have it. Life is good.

I’m on the downward slide to the end of the school year and I have all my planning for classes done from now to the end of March. My grading is completely caught up (actually, I’m so on top of things I grade stuff the same day I get it!). And I’ve actually had time to knit, watch TV, and read!

raglan cardigan

raglan cardigan

I’ve been working on a basic raglan cardigan and I’m a row or two away from taking it off the needles and trying it on. I’m going to post about that later today. It’s a nice grey-brown color that will go with just about anything. I love brown. It’s a great color.  While that’s going, I’ve been carrying a basic k3 p2 cowl around with me in a charcoal alpaca yarn that I bought back in 2003 and only used part of for a hat for Allan. I bought enough for a hat and scarf set but ended up only getting to the hat, actually, two hats. Allan has two hats out of this stuff and I’m making a cowl out of the rest. It’s super soft and had a great sheen.

It’s been sunny a lot the last week and my mood has been perking up. I always knew how much the lack of sun and the cold affects me, but this winter hammered it  home. I have a light therapy lamp. I’m going to make regular use of it next  year starting in October. I stopped using it because you have to use it for half an hour or more every day in the morning. And it’s on my desk. So I have to get up, shower, get dressed, make breakfast and then sit in front of the thing for half an hour. It’s a huge time commitment. I stopped because of how early I’d have to get up, and how late I was up to get school stuff done. I figured the extra sleep would help out more than the light. And it did, a little.

That’s another huge change I’ve made. I made a commitment to myself that no matter what, I’ll get enough sleep each night. Each night I go upstairs by 9:45 to read a little before I fall asleep, which is usually around 10:15. And I’ve been getting up at 5:40, 40 minutes later than usual. Getting a solid 7 hours of sleep has greatly improved my mood and memory. Prior to this change, I’d head upstairs at 10:30 or 11 and wake up at 5. I didn’t get nearly as much done because I was so tired all the time. Getting enough sleep isn’t just a luxury, it’s necessary for full functionality.

I also started running seriously again. I have posts on my running blog about my recent sessions. I’m training for a duathlon in early May and I’m excited. I think I’ll do just fine, once I get the miles under my belt again, that is.

So that’s that. I’ll post pictures of knitting projects as soon as I have something worth showing. (And as soon as I have someone to take pictures. My resident photographer has been out and about on the weekends during the daylight hours.)

2 responses to “Content

  1. LittleWit February 9, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Isn’t it wonderful to be on top of things? I love that feeling. Also, I completely agree on getting enough sleep. It’s amazing what you will have the energy to accomplish when you get enough sleep each night.

  2. Amy February 9, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    registration for the du opens today!

Leave a Reply

