a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Woolley Inspiration

the green and grey (x2) are still in my stash, plus 4 hanks of a rich sky blue

Filatura di Crosa Fisherman Wool: the green and grey (x2) are still in my stash, plus 4 hanks of a rich sky blue

I got the best knitting inspiration and energy the night before I head back to school. This came about while Allan and I were dismantling the tree and I needed a tote to put all the boxes and ornaments in. I have a huge tote full of wool that has not been given a purpose yet, so I dumped it out, put the ornaments in the tote, and then began going through the odds and ends of wool.

Most of this wool was inherited. I have a lot of natural hand-dyed and homespun wool that Allan’s grandmother gave me that I haven’t put to use yet. And I have ends of projects. And I have 4 hanks of a beautiful blue icelandic wool, as well as 2 hanks of charcoal and 1 hank of sea foam green. And then I have some wool/cashmere blend that I picked up at Friends’ Folly  Farm last summer. And so much other stuff that I can’t even name it all. While going through all this, winding it up and putting it in boxes, it occurred to me that all this wool does, indeed, have a purpose. And that purpose is striped hats, mittens, mini-sweaters, mini-mittens, and all kinds of other things that I can knit up, store, and give away when the time is right.

I haven’t knit up most of this stuff simply because I’m fussy with colors. If the color isn’t quite right, which is often the case with wool that is given to me, I simply set it aside and move on to wool that is the right color. But then, the mountain such as I described builds.

But tonight, after catching up with Exercise Before Knitting, I have so many ideas for that wool I simply want to spend my time knitting. Instead, after publishing this post, I need to get back to planning and grading, stuff I should have done in small bits over break but didn’t, tonight to be ready for the coming week.

Oh well.

At least I have a whole year between me and the next round of holidays. That’s a great thought! I have so much material to work with! This coming weekend, when I have some more time, I’ll photograph the stash and post the photos and ideas. Perhaps you’ll have some ideas I haven’t thought of yet for it. If so, please don’t hold back!

Until then, I must finish up some things for school. I’m working on that whole balancing knitting and work thing and trying to keep everything in perspective. With all this new knitting energy, this may be more difficult than I imagined! 🙂 At least creativity breeds creativity! I’m all organized, school and crafting, so I’m off to a good start in 2009!

2 responses to “Woolley Inspiration

  1. knittinnoodlin January 4, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Isn’t that funny? The way you get all of these brilliant ideas right when things start to get busy again? I can totally relate…my best ideas come as I’m walking out the door for work. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. LittleWit January 5, 2009 at 9:49 am

    That’s a fantastic idea! I think I may have to nose around for things in my stash to do that with as well. 🙂

