a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

December already?

I cannot believe it’s December already:  halfway through the second quarter (it ends soon after the holidays in January!), a week away from my birthday (nudge-nudge), and only a few short weeks to another extended holiday. Where did the time go?

I’d have to say that I’m psyched that it’s this far into the year as it means that it has gone fairly smoothly. It feels like it flew by. I’ve gotten into a great groove with planning and teaching, too. I just have to keep up with grading better. The teaching and prepping is fine; the grading takes double the time. I’m working on methods around that. Not assign work? Ha! Not likely to go over well. 🙂

Prior to this past weekend I was doing poorly. I was low in spirit, ambition, and health. And it showed in my classroom, in my relationships, and in my knitting. I got nothing done. This past weekend I traveled to visit family in northern Maine and I fully recharged. I spent the weekend eating feast-day foods, knitting, playing World of Warcraft for the first time since early 2007 (reactivated my account), and watching movies with old friends. It was exactly what I needed.

I haven’t felt this good in months! No, longer, since I left Orono for my job last fall. Wow. That’s amazing to me. It’s been a full year since I’ve been this healthy in mind and body. That’s a scary realization.

Part of the recharge came from taking up the MMORPG again. Granted, WoW is addictive, but I got over that when I played close to 2 years ago. I can log off anytime I want instead of skipping classes (when I was finishing undergrad) to play and staying up all hours to level up my character. Now, I play for an hour and log off. It’s nice. Having the desire to play helps me get my work done quickly and efficiently. I had been dragging it out and moaning about it, making everything worse, but now I just get the job done and move on.

The lesson on this one is simply to have a life and something to do that gets your mind off work! Warcraft gives me something else to focus my mental energy on. Knitting, one of my favorite activities, isn’t mentally challenging enough to keep my mind occupied; I end up obsessing over school.

Until next post, yours truly, Little Bee.

2 responses to “December already?

  1. leah December 1, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    So glad you found a system that works! it seems to be a never ending challenge for me!

  2. LittleWit December 3, 2008 at 10:57 am

    It’s nice to have some kind of reward for getting things done. I keep trying to reward myself but I don’t listen well to myself. Funny, eh? By the by, have you seen The Guild? I keep hearing great things about it and thought you may enjoy it. 🙂

