a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

A Lesson Learned

It seems like every few weeks I learn a big life and or professional lesson. And this week, it’s how to navigate small town politics – keep your mouth shut and talk only about the weather.

You see, I’ve been sick the last few days and was out of school all day Wednesday and Friday. I really honestly thought I had a stomach virus. That is, until tonight. Tonight it dawned on me that it’s a long-term health issue that flared up for the first time in months, close to a year. And this illness, when manifest, mimics the flu.

Well, tonight I went to the play my students put on. And I ran into one of my colleagues. My colleague asked how I was, and forgetting small town and small school politics, I mentioned that come to find out, it was another health issue, not a bug. She looked at me like I was a liar because she has that condition, too, and she never had that. I had to explain that there are various manifestations of this illness and that mine is different.

I’m a little upset about this, but lesson learned. Smile pretty and keep my mouth shut.

2 responses to “A Lesson Learned

  1. Patty November 22, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Ah, the joys of a small town. The stories I could tell you! Don’t worry about it – it’s not your problem.

  2. Holly November 24, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Having a chronic illness that manifests itself in lots of different forms, I can relate. It’s hard to explain the invisible to other people. I wouldn’t worry so much about it. {HUGS}

Leave a Reply

