a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Odds and Ends on a Sick Day

the mound of work

the mound of work

Leave it to a teacher to worry about getting caught up/ahead on work on a sick day. I’ve been grading and planning all morning in between naps and tending the wood stove. I figure, at least this way I’ll be all set when it comes time to leave for Thanksgiving to visit family – I’ll have everything caught up and ready to go.

I’m really looking forward to Thanksgiving. Of all the holidays, Thanksgiving is by far my favorite. It has fewer religious overtones, I don’t have to worry about the pressure of giving or receiving gifts, and I get to help make and eat delicious food with friends and family. What more could I ask for in a holiday!

This holiday also marks the period of the year where I really have to worry about my SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder). I have to be careful to always use my therapy lamp, to get out on walks a few times a week, to exercise, and eat good wholesome foods. If I’m going to succumb to depression, between Thanksgiving and New Year’s is it.

I always crave intense color this time of year, too. I normally am not a huge fan of red, not berry colors or purples, I mean RED. But I’ve been going shopping specifically to seek out red things – red bags, red note books, red shirts or sweaters, red anything. The intense color of red always lifts me up a little this time of  year. It’s a bold color amongst the cold, drab, dreary and dark landscape. It’s warming and cheering. But I only really like red between Thanksgiving and New Year’s. Otherwise, I’m very attracted to soothing browns, blues, greens, and subdued plums and berry colors. I’ve even been attracted to fiery oranges lately, too. Weird.

One response to “Odds and Ends on a Sick Day

  1. LittleWit November 19, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    You just named all my favorite colors. 🙂 Fortunately red is in high supply this time of year. What with it being the jolly ol’ elf’s favorite color as well. 😉 Make sure you rest up enough to heal today. Getting sick is our body’s way of saying, sit down and rest a spell, dag-nabit! Feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

