a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

First Sick Day of the Year

Is going to be tomorrow. Yup. It’s official, I’ve got a bug. And it’s not nice at all. I’ve become one of those teachers that would much prefer to be in the classroom even when sick than to make sub plans and leave my kiddies in someone else’s hands for a day. Not that I don’t trust subs, I was one for a while, but subs just don’t have the same investment in the material, naturally. But the bug I’ve got isn’t one that is very pleasant to be in the classroom with…

It took me 3 hours to get my sub plans together, including preparing materials, making copies, cleaning off my desk to make sure nothing important got disturbed, etc. Plus I like to leave my subs with real plans. And by real plans I mean actually teach something instead of having them watch a video or something. That’s lame.

In other news, I’ve been knitting quite a bit but I have yet to recharge my camera batteries. It’s been close to two-weeks now. One of these days I’ll remember.

It’s flurried three times in the last two days that I’ve witnessed. The high has been 33 degrees. Winter is really here. It’s time to finish the new season’s woollens.

2 responses to “First Sick Day of the Year

  1. LittleWit November 19, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I hope you feel better soon. Am I recalling correctly that you have a fireplace? If so, you should snuggle in front of it and either sleep or drink/eat something warm.

