a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

I love soup.

image from baicherandfridman.com

image from baicherandfridman.com

My dear friend Amy got me good. She invited me over for dinner and sneakily made what has now become my favorite soup ever. It was full of vegetables all blended up. Even a year ago, this soup would have grossed me out. Here’s the story.

I grew up in a household that rarely saw a variety of vegetables other than green beans, corn, and gourds around the holidays. And when there were other vegetables, they were always overcooked and overdressed. Not a good way hook someone who is tentative to begin with about eating these sorts of things.

In high school, my friend Emmy began my food reform. Her way was blunt and direct:  “Here. Eat this. Now.” This method got me to eat cream cheese, deer meat, and rhubarb. Not bad.

Then my friend Amy H. early in college continued the process. She got me to add all sorts of veggies and foods to my rotation by adding veggies to my plate when cooking stir frys in the Commons. I got started on waterchestnuts, bean sprouts, and broccoli with her.

And then came along Allan. Allan has been working on me since 2003. He’s added mushrooms, sweet potatoes, colored bell peppers, cabbage, cooked carrots, and a few other veggies. He’s continually adding new foods into my diet.

And now enter Amy. She knows how finicky I am and how slow the progress of eating new foods is for me. This brave woman made a veggie soup for dinner when we came over. And you know what, I loved it! I loved it so much that I’ve made variations on the theme every night for dinner since. As a matter of fact, I’m making another pot of soup for dinner tonight!

Amy’s soup consisted of boiling until very well cooked sweet potatoes, yukon gold potatoes, and carrots with a few select spices in some chicken stock. When the veggies were fully cooked she added some butter and milk and hand blended the mixture. Heaven! Pure wonderful heaven! I’m going to make this very same soup for dinner tonight.

In closing, thank you, Amy! Dinner was great.

P. S. If anyone has any favorite soup recipes to share, I’d love to check them out! I’m collecting recipes to try out; preferably soups that are onion/scallions/leeks/shallots/chives free or wouldn’t be ruined by omitting them (allergic).

5 responses to “I love soup.

  1. Michelle Glauser November 16, 2008 at 2:39 am

    My family growing up never ate many vegetables either. Peas, corn, green beans here and there. Yup, that was about it. The problem is, every time I try a new vegetable and like it, I find out it’s technically a fruit. Like tomatoes. And peppers. Oh well.

  2. LittleWit November 16, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Mmm soup. I would love to try a number of different soup recipes this winter. It is definitely soup season now.

  3. Jen November 16, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I’ve found the same thing, Michelle. Most of the veggies I like are “fruits”. Oh well. At least sweet potatoes are firmly fixed in the vegetable category! 🙂

    Yes, it is indeed soup season! My soup is a blend of sweet potatoes, carrots, yukon gold potatoes simmered in chicken broth until they turn to mush with whatever seasonings rock your boat and then blend it all up. It’s delicious! I learned it from my friend Amy.

  4. habitsofamouse November 16, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Joe and I are planning on growing some buttercup squash next year. We’d be more than willing to share come harvest time!

  5. Amy November 17, 2008 at 8:29 am

    So glad you liked it!!!! I was nervous!!!

