a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

The Shoulder Saga Continues

Today another chapter in the shoulder saga has been written. My dear, wonderful, charismatic, great fisherman, and helluva guy chiropractor did what he could to help with the shoulder after my PCP and (dumb-ass) orthopedic surgeon gave him the green light. He supported the weight of my arm and rolled my arm all over its axis, which just happens to be the location of the injury. At one point while rolling it around, he “adjusts” the ball of the shoulder in the socket to try and return normal motion and/or to loosen scar tissue. Well, all I know is that a big ol’ can of pain was opened and I was in tears and biting my finger clean off. Poor guy. He probably feels bad. But it’s not his fault. My shoulder was pretty messed up to begin with. When there’s not a whole lot right with something, it takes a lot of pain (ha!) and effort to fix it.

Here I am, four hours later, and it still hurts like hell. Is this what physical therapy will make it feel like? If so, oh man. It’s time for another bottle of vodka.

Due to a huge flare up of this injury, I’m in a sling, popping ibuprofen, and as of tonight, not running or knitting until further notice (well, maybe just running, I think I can sneak in some knitting somehow). Damn it. Just when I was getting on a roll with both.

Well, it’s a good thing I have a back-log of books to read. And grading. And planning.

Oh, speaking of school stuff, parent-teacher conferences are on Thursday. Wish me luck. Depending on who else signs up, I just might need it.

5 responses to “The Shoulder Saga Continues

  1. Holly October 14, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    UGH! I am sorry! Let me know if you need me to bring over the vodka or the tequila… Either or will kill any pain I have known. 😉 They say that it will hurt worse before it will get better and I’m not entirely sure I believe this. I live with pain every day of my freakin life and I’m not convinced that someone or something can take the pain away that I have learned how to tolerate. I wish you nothing but the best of luck with yours. I can empathize with you!

  2. Amy October 15, 2008 at 7:51 am

    I feel so bad for you and Jared both. I feel bad because you’re in so much pain, and I feel bad because he feels like he did it to you (yeah…don’t tell him that I wrote this to you).
    Stupid-ass orthopedic should just take care of this problem and not put you through all of this. Can you try a different orthropedic doc?
    And I hate to say this, but PT will probably be just as bad. They won’t adjust you, but they’ll make you do all kinds of things outside of your comfort zone. Not fun.

  3. Amy October 15, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I should clarify, he feels like he followed the protocalls correctly, he just feels bad for putting you in pain.
    I should just stay out of these things all together!!!!!

  4. LittleWit October 15, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I am sorry to hear your shoulder is causing you so much pain. 😦 I hope you heal quickly.

  5. Patty October 15, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Ooh. You’re in way more pain than me – I really, really hope you feel better soon. I would imagine that long term pain like that makes it very hard to stay positive so I’m sending lots of positive energy your way.

    I’m not running either. We can ‘not run’ together! Knitting and me are also off at the moment too (exzema). I hope you can get back to it faster than I do.

    Good luck with your upcoming school responsibilities!

