a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Knitting Update

It seems I can’t keep up with the bloggable bits of my life on here as of late because of the sheer number of things I’ve got going on now. I’ll get caught up someday. I want to write about the fairs I’ve been to, the various school events going on, and other life stuff. But that’ll have to wait for another day.

I want to talk shop. Specifically about my knitting.

I keep screwing up on my cowl-neck vest! I have been trying to put that damned cowl on for about 3 weeks now. The first time, it took forever to pick up the right amount of stitches evenly. I worked out a system for that, though. I marked the center of the front and back, and then the quarter marks. I then divided the number of stitches I needed to pick up by 4. I made sure there were that many stitches as evenly spaced as possible between the markers. So, that’s one good thing.

After I finally got the right number on and knit 2 inches or so, I realized I picked the stitches up on the wrong side! The seam was facing the visible part of the vest. So there it goes.

I picked it up again today. Knit about 3 inches after picking up the right amount of evenly spaced stitches when I realized I grabbed and used the wrong size needle. When I looked at the directions, I accidentally looked at the next section, which calls for sz. 7, and not the neck section, which calls for sz. 10. I have some serious frogging to do. Luckily, it’s just the cowl. The rest knit up like a dream.

I think it’s time to order some of those Ravelry pint glasses….

In better and happier news, I got an unexpected package in the mail the other day from a dear friend of mine. Gail taught me to spin on her double-peddle wheel a few years ago and really taught me some of the foundational skills of knitting I never picked up before. She taught me how to run a stitch to fix a mistake a few rows down, how to do various borders to add beauty and flatness to scarves, and how to block. We’ve been talking for years about getting together to teach me how to really spin, but I haven’t had the chance to take her up on it yet. But I really should. Look at what she send me for a wedding gift:

hand-dyed hand spun Jacobs fleece

hand-dyed hand spun Jacob's fleece

How lucky am I? The perfect blend of fall colors in roughly 220 yards of worsted weight wool. Now, what to do with this gem? A cowl, perhaps? Any and all suggestions are welcome. Help me come up with the perfect way to knit this beauty up.

More eye candy:

so beautiful!

so beautiful!

2 responses to “Knitting Update

  1. LittleWit October 11, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    You have great patience than I. I would have tossed that cowl into a corner and not looked at it for a couple of days. The handspun is beautiful. With 220 yds of worsted there are a lot of accessories you could make. I can’t wait to see what you end up doing with it.

  2. habitsofamouse October 13, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I have to agree with LittleWit, I would have tossed that thing a corner and let it hang out for a few months, like a frustrated piece of writing.

    Oh! Do post pictures when you get around to knitting with that yarn! It looks scrumptious! (Not that a request of such is really necessary with all the lovely photos you post anyhow. ^_^)

