a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Blood Spatters and Updates

So, after typing out my frustrations last night I felt a lot better. I know that I’ll recieve adequate care, eventually. I have an appointment with my PCP tomorrow to discuss the issue and we’ll go from there. I’ll keep you posted on the journey.

In other news, the English department took all the sophomores to see the Portland Stage Co.’s production of Julius Caesar. We were on the bus with fifty-nine fifteen-year-olds for an hour headed to Maine’s most hopping city. It was an amazingly positive experience.

The production was amazing. There were about four schools in the audience watching the drama unfold through big-screen projections, acting, sound effects, and special effects. They were enthralled, they were impressed, and they were intrigued. So many of the students started asking great questions that get at the heart of this tragedy like “why did the play begin with police giving people a hard time in the streets?” and “why did it seem like Brutus didn’t know what he wanted? he went back and forth through the whole play.” and “what did Caesar to do to piss off all those people enough for them to assassinate him?”. Like I said, great questions. I told my class that we’ll be starting this play soon and that answers will come shortly. If only I could begin every unit like this! What better way to inspire true interest in the lessons?

One of the most appreciated scenes was the assassination scene. The actors gave an amazing performance and the house used a thick red liquid to make the scene even more real while Caesar was being stabbed to death. This red liquid made it into several scenes and the students were instantly somber when they saw it.

The students expressed a seemingly sincere interest in performing this and other plays. Seriously, what more could I ask for when teaching Shakespeare?

One response to “Blood Spatters and Updates

  1. LittleWit October 8, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    That sounds like an amazing experience. The Shakespeare lessons should be fun 🙂

