a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Apples and Cardigans

Autumn is definitely here. It’s about 50-degrees in the house in the morning and the apples are ripe for the picking. I gathered a whole basket-full in preparation for baking my first apple pie of the season.

apples from my tree for pie

apples from my tree for pie

My brother is coming over for dinner tonight and boy is he in for a treat. Home-made apple pie from my own apples, chicken parmesan and pasta, and wine. This will be the first time I’ve spent good quality time with him in years. Growing up, I was always his protector:Ā  I protected him from the abuse of my parents and from peers as best I could. After I graduated from high school, I had to separate myself from the family to heal from my experiences. Unfortunately, I distanced myself from him, too. He served as a painful reminder of our experiences, and of my perceived failure to protect him from damage. I’m finally ready to reunite and get to know him again. And as a bonus, I get a chance to spend time with his girlfriend, Michelle, who has wrought significant and positive change in him.

In addition to picking pies in preparation for dinner, I finished Abby’s cardigan, finally! It would have been done sooner had I not been so busy with school. Such excuses! Sheesh. šŸ™‚

Hopefully I’ll continue to make good progress on my to-do list and crank out the cowl-necked vest and some socks soon, too.

Cheerio until later!

2 responses to “Apples and Cardigans

  1. Holly September 21, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Oh, your brother is some lucky fella! Apple pie and chicken parmesan. Delicious! I hope you guys had a nice visit and was able to reconnect. I love reading your blog, Jen. I come here every day! I should e-mail you one of these days, if I can remember where I put that tiny piece of paper with your info on it! šŸ˜‰

  2. LittleWit September 22, 2008 at 7:33 am

    The cardigan is adorable. I am glad you get to spend some QT with your brother. Which reminds me, I need to call my brother. šŸ™‚

