a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

I ran!

I went running for the first time in 3 weeks yesterday. What a difference it makes. Instead of lethargically going about my evening, I’m energized and I sit down and crank it out. I went again tonight, this time with a friend’s 2-year-old white lab and it was such a good run. Bauer was so enthusiastic about running that it encouraged me to run like I know I can. Tonight’s run was great. I ran my basic 2-1/2 mile there-and-back route 5 minutes faster than usual and I felt better than I usually do, too. It’s amazing what a good run will do for a person. My 2-1/2 mile run is generally about 25 minutes. I was back in 20.

I am definitely getting a dog that likes to run when I have a house of my own and the ability to care for a pup. There’s nothing better than having an enthusiastic running partner! 🙂

3 responses to “I ran!

  1. habitsofamouse September 18, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I highly suggest checking out greyhound rescues. Those dogs LOVE to run and there are many that need loving homes!

  2. Patty September 18, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    I agree! I used to run with Para before she got too -sob – old. We go on nice long walks together with Iain now.

    Right. We’re going away for the weekend. I’m putting my sneakers in now. It’s been, uh, two MONTHS since my last run. Yes, bad, bad, bad…

  3. Jen September 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    All the greyhounds I’ve known have had two speeds: sleeping, and sprinting. 🙂 I’m actually thinking about Springer Spaniels, Australian Shepherds, or some other mid-size, smart, and energetic dog. I don’t like tall dogs because of childhood experiences, and I don’t like little ankle-biters.

    And Patty, good for you getting on the road today! Together we’ll get to our goal!

