a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Balancing Act

I’ve been working on preparing materials and lessons for school since I got home at 5 pm today. I feel like I don’t have enough time to preview the texts, develop essential understandings and interesting lessons for every class when they need to be done, ie, NOW. I know everyone says that new teachers work long and hard hours, and I know I got a lot of the thinking done last year, but really? Is it really this much work all the time? Of course it is. I’m in a profession where I am responsible for training my students for life beyond their diploma, for life when they walk out the doors of school, or for that matter, when they walk in.

Life for a high school student is hard and my goal is to find ways to, through my teaching, help make their lives better and easier.

It’s so hard to get everything done. I have been working on preparing essential questions, lessons, reading notes, and other such things since the day began and I feel like I’m not making significant progress in light of my growing task list.

Personally, there has been little time for me and Allan in my busy school schedule. I get home, spend a little time on the couch talking with Allan, and then I sit down to work. And I sit there until it’s time for bed. He supports my career and the time it takes to do it well, but I know that the lack time spent together doing Jen and Allan things will wear us both thin over time. I have to strike a balance.

It’s late and I’m tired. I have to get up early tomorrow to make some photocopies. It’s time to put these thoughts to rest and start fresh tomorrow.

Remind me to take knitting in to work on during lunch tomorrow…

3 responses to “Balancing Act

  1. allison September 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Wow, I could have written this. đŸ™‚ I hope you can knit during lunch tomorrow. I think I have forgotten what knitting even is.

  2. Guin September 16, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    It’s so hard…I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time, but thought I’d share now!

    My partner teaches at the college level and is up to his ears with lesson plans, etc. He just went back yesterday (lucky stiff and his ridiculous summers…). It’s very hard for us because he teaches sometimes extremely late, and I work a regular 9-5. He often feels like he must wait until I go to bed to begin his real work, and then he doesn’t go to bed until way too late. It’s hard on both of us. We have found just being in the same room helps, even if one of us is working. Don’t know if that’s feasible for the two of you, but any kind of contact helps. Hang in there, even if for those glorious summers…hopefully once I complete my master’s, that will be my life too.

  3. habitsofamouse September 17, 2008 at 5:06 am

    I’m glad that Allan’s being a support for you! Sometimes having that one person to vent to makes all the difference in the world, but you already know that. đŸ™‚

    A couple of my co-workers that were blessed with their own classrooms this year were talking about ways to relieve stress the other day. One of them mentioned doing things on a “time cycle.” When I started thinking about this, I realized that I did such a thing during student teaching. I suggest you try it, if you haven’t already! When you’re grading, set a timer to 15 minutes. When the timer goes off, do some knitting or cleaning (whichever makes you feel relaxed) for 15 minutes and then set the timer again.

    It’s amazing the difference working in short snippets make, especially on the days when you just really don’t want to do it!

