a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Rookie Mistake #1

I know I said a while ago that I wanted to keep classroom life off the blog, but, well, considering that’s close to 75% of my life right now, it knocks out most of my content! So, that’s out the window. I’ll keep it confidential but I’ll tell you the good ones. 🙂

I have six subjects to teach and seven groups of students (2 sections of 1 course) and I knew it was only a matter of time before I made a goof along the lines of teaching the wrong lesson to the wrong class. Well, today was that day. Yesterday, I was working with my 10th graders and we were cruising through the agenda. I got to the end of the day when I wanted to give them our first novel and I couldn’t remember off the top of my head so I looked at my year long curriculum plan that has all of my classes on it (keeps me organized and on the ball!), read the first novel title, and distributed the books. No problem.

Until today when I was working with my 9th graders. I looked at the wrong line! I gave my 9th grade book to my 10th graders! Oops.

It’s really not a big deal considering the books are on par as far as content and grade level (Ordinary People by Judith Guest was for the 9th graders and To Kill a Mockingbird for the 10th graders – originally!). I’m just surprised that my first rookie mistake was as simple to fix as this. It makes me wonder if Fate is playing tricks on me and will plant me in a big ol’ mess sometime this year. 😛

Comments are closed.

