a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Survived Week 1; Looking forward to Week 2.

Alright. One week down. I’m not going to count how many left because that’s pessimistic and I’m aiming to be positive!

Good things from the first week of school:

  • didn’t get up or arrive late once
  • didn’t forget my photo copies
  • I’m in my own room all the time!
  • I know what I’m doing, mostly.

Things that need improving from the first week of school:

  • need to keep names straight – I know their names, but for some reason I’ll look at a kid and call them by another name… gotta stop this
  • constantly tired and haven’t been running once and I’m starting to feel the pudge develop that I’ve worked hard to get rid of this summer
  • gotta spend less time on work and more time on me when I’m home

So that’s school stuff.

In my own news, I’ve felt awful the last week from allergies. My ears are plugged and my sinuses are dripping. And my meds are not keeping up. I feel worn out and dehydrated all day long despite napping and drinking 3 or more 32 oz. bottles of water. Blargh. This is the only part of this time of year I don’t like. Well, no, that’s not quite true.

There’s one other thing that I don’t like and that’s not having cool enough weather to wear my woolens! I pulled out all the cold weather gear and got it washed up over the last two weeks to get it ready and I haven’t been able to use it. Not that I expected it, but it’s a tradition of mine (new this year!) to pull out and wash the woolens when the first leaves turn orange and fall. I’m going to like this tradition.

I’ve been plodding away on the lozenge socks for my FIL and have finally made it past the heel and gusset. Once I get past that it’s just a few sittings to done. For some reason, the leg takes forever. Especially for men with big feet. It takes more stitches to get the length and it takes foreeeevvvveeeer to make progress. But it’s nearly done now and I’ll be on to sock number two before SSS kicks in. Luckily now that I’m back in school I’ll make more consistent progress by bringing in knitting to work on during my 40 minute lunch break. Lucky me! I eat in about 15 minutes and then knit for 25. I like it. It’s a good stress reliever during the day.

I still have to finish the button bands on Abby’s cardigan. I’ll tackle that this coming weekend. Further, I have Justin’s hat and scarf set that I started last winter when we were visiting for the holidays that I have to finish, my cowl-neck vest, and a few other projects. I’m going to try and move through as many of these before casting on new projects. Let’s see how long that lasts.

That’s it in my neck of the woods. I’d have pictures but I lost my camera. It’s got to be around here somewhere…

3 responses to “Survived Week 1; Looking forward to Week 2.

  1. allison September 7, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    I’m jealous of your 40 minute lunch! I have to choke mine down in 22 minutes. 🙂

  2. habitsofamouse September 8, 2008 at 5:12 am

    It’s great to see that things are going a bit smoother for you this year than last! Hopefully that will make everything a little less stressful. Not to mention that now you have the hubby down there, that will make life easier on the whole.

  3. Patty September 9, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Ah, after a month you’ll wonder what you were so worried about. And you now have Allan so much closer to support you – yeah!

    Glad to hear from you!

