a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Weekend Warriors

Little Abby

Little Abby

I’m so exhausted: the last three days have been busier than the last two weeks combined. It all started the day of my reception when I found out that my cousin Tracy’s baby was being baptized. I immediately went out and purchased yarn for a little cardigan that you’ve seen posts on the last few days. That little cardigan kicked my butt. It took so much longer than I ever expected. Saturday night I was up until 2 am trying to finish that thing. I got one button band done and decided to finish the rest on the hour and more car ride to Western Maine only to realize the next day that I picked up way too many stitches. The poor sweater was crinkled and bunched from it. I showed it to my cousin and let her know I’d fix it and mail it. At least she saw that I indeed had something for little Abigail. Tracy wasn’t worried. As a matter of fact, she loves the cardigan and can’t wait until I mail it out.

Allan enjoying the get-together, and the sun.

Allan enjoying the get-together, and the sun.

Spending time with my maternal extended family was cathartic. I distanced myself from them around 2003 when I began acknowledging the full extent of my childhood experiences and the truth of my parents’ actions because my only interactions with them to that point were through my parents – either going with them to visit or hearing about them from my parents. My need to heal emotionally led me to pull away from my family, and even some friends, to what felt like a safe, secluded space. And now, five years later, married, happier than I’ve ever been in my life, I was able to reconnect with them. And it was wonderful beyond measure.

My parents were unable to attend the baptism and following barbecue, which allowed me to interact with my family for the first time in my life without them. And further, I’m an adult with an adult perspective. I was able to fully be myself around my family because I tend to limit my emotional and verbal responses when my parents are around because of the pain and memories their presence evokes. For the first time since I was a child, I have an extended family.

We left western Maine mid-afternoon and promptly got lost in a very similar manner to Amy’s experience in the same region. It took us nearly two and a half hours to return from Andover. By the time we drove into the dooryard, I was tired, hungry and cranky. So, of course, we immediately left again to visit Allan’s parents in Vassalboro, another 35 minute drive away. It was worth it, though, as I had a long and leisurely swim in my MIL’s heated therapy pool (pool house built off the main house). It was a dream.

We got back from Sunday’s adventures around 11 pm. Monday’s adventures began at 10 am when we left to visit Grammie in Camden, about an hour and a half away. Earlier in our adventures, Allan’s only pair of sandals blew out and so we had to try and find another pair. We scoured three stores in Augusta only to find cheap, uncomfortable, and limited selections of sandals for far more than we would consider paying. This made us really cranky and made the additional car time a real joy.

We ended up arriving in Camden about 2 hours later than we estimated because of our delayed morning start (groggy) and searching for sandals.

Allan and his Grammie

Allan and his Grammie

From there our adventures started looking up. We went into Camden in search of lunch, intending on eating at this new wine bar, but they were closed. So, on our way to check out other place to eat, we ended up stopping into Sage as they just opened a shop in downtown Camden, and I fell in love. If I could live anywhere I wanted, I’d live in a coastal town similar to the Rockland/Rockport/Camden area. After ogling the spices and wine, we sallied forth and found a shoe shop where Allan finally found a pair of sandals that were comfortable, well made, and reasonably priced! Hallelujah! From there, we sought out a Japanese restaurant, but come to find out, they, too, were not open on Monday. We ended up eating at this great little Thai place. The food was to die for.

thai food - yum!

thai food - yum!

Frog Tree Fingering Alpaca Wool

After lunch, I brought Allan and Grammie to Unique One Sweater and Yarn where we were mesmerized and tantalized by the gorgeous stock. I walked out with three balls of Frog Tree Fingering Alpaca wool to make a Reversible Cable and Lace scarf. See, I told you I’m getting better, and braver! Two lace projects lined up!

Frog Tree Fingering Alpaca Wool

The adventures didn’t end there. We stopped by a market, grabbed stuff for kabobs, and went back to the cottage. We drank wine (Gnarly Head Cab), at cheese and crackers (rice crackers with a light honey glaze and blue cheese), and talked about old times. It was a great night.

And now, here I am, Tuesday, exhausted. Any wonder why? 🙂

2 responses to “Weekend Warriors

  1. LittleWit August 19, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Sounds like you all are just as busy as we are. Kudos to finding the time to write a nice entry about it. 🙂

  2. Patty August 21, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Wow! I’m tired just reading about it. I can’t wait to see the little cardie completed. And that alpaca looks a lot like the fibre I’m using right now too.

    It’s nice to hear your reconnection with your family went so well.

