a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Cardigan Progress

(Don’t forget to scroll down for the contest!)

I’m getting there. I have to sit down and crank out the stiches today, but I can certainly get it done. This little cardigan is taking longer than I expected but not as long as I feared.

I’ve had to make some changes along the way, no major ones, but ones I wouldn’t have been brave enough to make even 8 months ago. It’s amazing how the learning curve works in knitting: fearing a process, getting through it, and then realizing it wasn’t so bad and that it allows you to do so many more things than you thought possible.

That’s one of the great things about this cardigan: I’m realizing how much I’ve grown as a knitter and how fearless and competent I’m becoming. I feel like I can go off the beaten path and solve my own problems now. A year ago I would have set the project aside worried that I’d make a terrible mess of it. Now, I know that it will be wonderful. Isn’t this great? I love knitting confidence!

(Don’t forget to scroll down for the contest!)

2 responses to “Cardigan Progress

  1. leah August 16, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Looks lovely! and you are absolutely right about the confidence thing!

  2. Patty August 16, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I really love this cardigan that you’re working on – just gorgeous! I also agree about knitting confidence. I’m working on a complicated cable scarf right now (complicated enough for me to be working on it, sitting at the table, working row by row and marking them off, etc) that I never would have considered doing a couple of years ago. I love that confidence!

