a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Holy Progress, Batman!

I cast on for Abby’s cardi last night and am making major progress. I’m loving this cardi! I’m keeping this pattern around for future projects for sure.

One thing I failed to take into consideration until after I got past the lace-bit is that I’m knitting with a cotton-blend and not wool as the pattern calls for. I nearly panicked, but then remembered the vast and wonderful resources available through Ravelry. Within two minutes I had my problem resolved!

What I did is instead of ripping out my work and starting over, I simply switched over to US size 4 needles after the lace which was done in US size 6. The fabric is more firmly knit which will decrease the cotton-droop. Speaking of the cotton, I’m really enjoying working with the Lion Brand Cotton-Ease. When I began knitting “real” projects and made the commitment to only knit with good yarns, I mentally crossed Lion Brand, and most stuff found at chain craft stores, off the list. Out of the feeling of urgency I went to Michaels and purchased the Cotton-Ease. And well, I actually like it, so far. We’ll see if this holds true after washing and blocking the sweater.

Further, this sweater represents my first successful lace knitting! My previous attempts were during the days of twisting my purl stitches and not doing yarn overs correctly. I now feel brave enough to tackle a few lace projects that I’ve attempted but put aside in the last few years.

Specifically, about four years ago I attempted the Lace Watch Cap and Scarf designed by Karen Braun found in Handspun Handknit Caps, Socks, Mittens & Gloves. I tried and tried for months to get it to come out right. Now I understand that it was simply because of the twisted purls and incorrect YOs. I pulled the book out, read the pattern over, and I now know that I am ready to revisit this project.

In celebration, I took some of the wedding gift money, with Allan’s permission of course, and ordered some yarn to knit it with. I ordered Elegance Yarn in Raisin. I can’t wait to cast on for this again!

But, this project will have to wait as I have a backlog of projects. Let’s list it to see how deep it is (as of now, I’m not sure until I write it down…).

These are all things that are on the needles or need some finishing:

  1. Abby’s cardigan
  2. Abby’s socks (will cast on after cardi)
  3. Abby’s hat (will cast on after cardi)
  4. Ken’s Gentleman’s Socks with Lozenge Pattern
  5. Cabled Cowl-Neck Vest
  6. Grammie’s Cowl (needs to be frogged and reknit with more stitches)
  7. Oak Ribbed Sock (set aside to make Ken’s socks)
  8. Justin’s scarf and hat set

Okay, not too bad. Now for the things that I purchased yarn for that I either started or put off:

  1. Sheldon the Turtle for Justin
  2. Lacy Shrug (had intended it for my wedding… oh well)
  3. and probably others…

And now for the yarn that I’ve purchased with intentions of using hopefully before this coming spring:

  1. Opal sock yarn (for me)
  2. Austermann sock yarn (for Allan)
  3. Knit Picks Palette for Allan-socks
  4. Knit Picks Essential Tweed for Allan-socks
  5. Knit Picks Essential Tweed for Jen-socks
  6. plus other things I can’t think of because they’re buried so deep in the stash…

I have a lot of knitting to do this fall and winter! Yay! I’m going to create a page on my blog to keep this list and update it.

So, I’m off to knit!

Comments are closed.

