a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Knitting News

At my reception, I found out that my cousin Tracy’s baby is being baptized on Sunday. You know what that means, baby knitting!

I scoured Ravelry for patterns, and found a bajillion I love. The winners for this project are:

From Woolly Butts: The Chiara Cardigan (rav link)

Photo Courtesy of Woolly Butts

Photo Courtesy of Woolly Butts

This cardigan will be knit in Lion Brand Cotton-Ease in colorway 149 Stone and, for accents, colorway 112 Berry. The edgings and the stripe in the middle will be in the berry color.

I’m also going to knit up some Better-than-Booties Baby Socks by Ann Budd.

Photo Courtesy of Interweave Knits

Photo Courtesy of Interweave Knits

Beyond knitting for baby, I’ve been making progress on the Gentleman’s Socks with Lozenge Pattern for my father-in-law. I had to rip them out and start over because I goofed on the lozenge pattern during graduation – I thought I had the pattern memorized. Oh well. It’s coming along well.

Gentlemans Socks with Lozenge Pattern

Gentleman's Socks with Lozenge Pattern

Cowl-Neck Vest Progress

I’m also making progress on my cowl-neck vest. In a few more centimeters I’ll be ready to graft the shoulders together and start on the cowl. After I get knitting for baby done, I’ll finish up the socks and vest. Maybe another 2-3 weeks on these?

Cowl-Neck Vest Progress

I also have a bunch of projects I can’t wait to start. And I also have a ton that have been on the back burner for a while. Such is the way of knitting, though. Too many interesting projects and not enough time to get them all done.

For one, I can’t wait to get going on some Cap’n Crunches. I’m going to use my Mission Falls wool to make some of these (the striped socks just were not working – this is a much better use of the wool!).

photo from Ravelrys Cap Crunch pattern information page

photo from Ravelry's Cap' Crunch pattern information page

I better get knitting…

One response to “Knitting News

  1. LittleWit August 12, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Your WIPs look lovely and those baby patterns look darling. I am off to check out the baby socks for my sister’s forthcoming child. 🙂

