a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Married!

I’ve been a married woman for 3 days now and I have to tell you, I love it! Granted, nothing significant changed other than being able to file taxes jointly, being able to consolidate our student loans jointly, and having a new last name that will confuse my students for the academic year to come.

But, there’s something special about being married to my best friend.

Those of you who have been following the planning saga since last summer know that getting this organized has been a long and tumultuous process of trying to strike a balance between what we wanted, what family wanted, and what others have done. I think we ultimately went the way that was best for us – simple, elegant, and down-to-earth.

Our vow exchange took place in our home, in our dining room, over tea. Our vows were strikingly similar to the ones previously posted, with a few ad libbed changes. I had to write the gist of what I wanted to say down 20 minutes before people showed up because, despite what I wrote earlier in the day, I was getting nervous. I got really nervous when our friends, Amy and Jared, showed up. And I got even more nervous when the notary arrived. I realized, and voiced to Amy, that I was nervous because although I’ve kissed Allan with people around, I’ve never kissed him in front of others, you know, with people watching!

Sitting here, three days later, I’m so glad that we did the vow exchange the way we did – it is something I’ll remember fondly from that day forward. It’s a very non-traditional approach that satisfied my needs.

The next day was our reception. We couldn’t have asked for better weather! Our wedding day saw rain (very lucky!) and our reception saw a blue sky and big fluffy clouds.

Our closest family and friends arrived in due fashion and we socialized for a bit before we arranged our plates at the brunch buffet. The whole reception was casual and elegant: people were dressed up and felt free to float around the room to talk to others. Many of our guests told me that they appreciated how simple and casual we made the day because it allowed them to really enjoy it.

After brunch, the toast, and photographs outside in the beautiful scenery, we went back in for cake. And what a delicious, scrumptious cake it was! Chocolate cake on the bottom, carrot cake on the top, and cream cheese frosting over the whole thing. And, of course, sheep cake toppers.

I asked Allan tonight what his favorite part of being married is, and his answer was, “having a ring.” Mine, I’d have to say, as I’ve said before, is the continuation of a good thing!

For more photos, view my Picasa Album.

(The images need some serious color correction – I’ll get around to it soon!)

4 responses to “Married!

  1. a.bumblingbee August 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Congratulations! It looks like a lovely day indeed.

  2. Tracey Hotham August 12, 2008 at 8:46 am

    What lovely pictures (I also viewed your Picasa album). You look absolutely beautiful! Marriage to your best friend is the most wonderful thing in the world. I married my best friend as well and we’re working on 15+ years. I wish you all the best. Love ya!

  3. Patty August 14, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Oh, Jen! It looks like both events were fantastic. I love how comfortable and happy you both look! Congratulations to both you and Allan. You look beautiful and Allan, very handsome. What a joy to marry your best friend. I did the same just over twelve years ago and, you’re right, even though ‘not much’ has changed with getting married, something very special has. I found getting married made everything ‘deeper’ somehow. Congratulations again (love that cake!).

