a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Today's the Day.

Tonight, at 8 pm, I am officially going to be Mrs. Jennifer L. Taylor. I’m not nervous at all. Should I be? I’m going to be marrying the man I love more than apple pie with ice cream, more than chocolate chip pancakes, and get this, more than knitting or reading.

We met with the Notary who will be marrying us last night and we went over some non-traditional vows to pull inspiration. We looked at them and, well, they weren’t for us. Ours go along the lines of:

Him: I promise I’ll take real good care of you, and feed you yummy food, and snuggle real close, and take you on little adventures. I love you the bestest.

Me: I promise to take care of you and to keep your winter basket full of fuzzy things. I promise to snuggle real close. I love you the bestest. Can I keep you?

Him: You can keep me forever. So I can keep you?

Me: Yep. You can keep me forever.

After being together for four years, tonight is more of a continuation of a good thing, not a beginning of a new life. And I like that.

Here’s to marrying my best friend!

8 responses to “Today's the Day.

  1. jc August 8, 2008 at 9:32 am

    It is your wedding day! How wonderful. All the best to you. The ceremony and reception sounds perfect… can’t wait to see pictures.

  2. Cupcake August 8, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Congratulations! Enjoy the day and the rest of your lives together!

  3. habitsofamouse August 8, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I’m so excited for you guys! (And so is Joe.) Here’s the continuation of a great relationship!

  4. leanne August 8, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Congratulations! Post pictures, ok?

  5. LittleWit August 11, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Congratulations and may there be many more happy and joyous years to come!

  6. Jen Taylor August 11, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Thank you, everyone, for your kind thoughts and wishes! Check back later today for a vow exchange and reception post! Oh, and I just found out that some friends are “surprising” me with a second reception with people I haven’t seen in years! I’ll have a post about that, too!

