a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Summer Knitting

I’ve been noticing some knitting bloggers mention not knitting as much during the summer, mostly because of the heat. I don’t blame them, however, summer time is when I make the most progress on knitting; it’s when I have the most free time to focus on intricate and long-term projects.

Here are some of the ones I’m working on currently:

Braided-Cable Cowl-Neck Vest

I started this project June 30 and have made significant progress on it. It’s not apparent in the photo, but it’s close to one-third complete. I have never knit braided cables before, but I love them and will seek them out! This project has been very satisfying to work on as it is quick, lovely, and I can see how it is going by holding it up against my body. There’s something wonderful about being able to readily see progress on a project like this.

The above image is a detail of the cable. Isn’t it wonderful! And below is the pattern book image of the project. I’m making mine about 10-12 inches shorter than the model.

Ken’s Gentleman’s Socks with Lozenge Pattern

These socks are my future father-in-law’s 50th birthday present. They are made out of Zitron Trekking XXL. I love this yarn! I’m pleased that Fiberphilia in Orono is stocking Trekking now, too! I really enjoy the pattern as it is easy to work on without keeping the pattern right at hand. Once you establish the pattern you can use it to guide the following rows.

I haven’t worked on this sock much in the last few days because the heat has been making me a little foggy headed, though. I hope that when I head to camp tomorrow, I’ll be able to work on it with the breeze coming off the lake and fresh-squeezed lemonade keeping me cool.

Cheap Therapy Scarf

I mentioned this project but didn’t really explain it. I bought the yarn, Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Guava, at a yard sale for a dollar each. This scarf is a two dollar scarf! Although I generally shy away from mostly-synthetic yarns, Wool-Ease isn’t that bad. And for two dollars one can’t complain too loudly. I’m knitting this in a simple seed stitch.

The Filatura di Crosa Fisherman 2 Icelandic Wool:

I mentioned this two posts ago but didn’t have any photos ready. Well, prepare to ooo and ahh!

That’s about all I’ve been working on lately. I hope to have the braided-cable cowl-neck vest done in the next week or two, as well as the lozenge pattern socks. We’ll see how that goes.

4 responses to “Summer Knitting

  1. habitsofamouse July 2, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I’ve definitely taken you up on your command to knit again. I started the second half to my shawl yesterday. I’m hoping to have it done before the end of next week. I’m also planning on starting Joe’s second sock. 🙂 He’s a little bit more excited about the sock then I am, I think.

  2. Jen July 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Oh good! You need to knit. All knitters need to knit. 🙂

  3. TK July 2, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    There’s so much knitting to do! I can’t stop, even for the heat. With air conditioning these days–not that I have it–it’s never too hot to knit.

    Good progress. It must feel good to have knitting in your hands more often, again.

  4. Jen July 3, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Yes, knitting feels so wonderful after such sporadic bouts of it for the last 8 months. And knowing that I can sit down and knit for hours if I want to is wonderful!

