a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

4 more school days…

… but who’s counting?

I happen to be good friends with the Outing Club advisor at school and he has roped me into chaperoning a lock-in at school tonight. We’ll be there from 8 pm to 8 am with around 20 teenagers. What was I thinking? I’ll post a review of that experience tomorrow after I’ve recovered from the sleep-deprivation.

My intention for this post is to update my readers on my various activities these last few days and weeks since my last stretch of consistent posts.

In running news, I haven’t done much of it! Two weeks ago I had a foot injury/infection that was so painful it kept me limping for about a week. Following that, I was preparing for the final weeks of school, planning and grading as much as humanly possible which meant that I was exhausted all the time and in no condition to demand more of my body. I’m getting back into it starting this weekend. My friend Patty from Fibreholic and I are planning on running a half-marathon this fall. I better get a move on.

In knitting news, I’ve made a lot of progress, in a round about way. I finished the Sockotta socks (although I don’t have any photos of the finished project) and learned how to get rid of that pesky line that appears at the join of two needles when knitting in the round on DPNs. Elizabeth Zimmerman recommends to pull very very  tightly at the transition, so I did, and viola! the line was gone!

Check out the sock with the line. It’s hard to see, but it’s the line of stitches between my finger and thumb:

And the second sock without the line:

Nice, huh!

Furthermore, I’ve done a lot of work on my Oak Ribbed Sock in Knit Picks Simple Stripes in the colorway Dragonfly. Unfortunately, this line has been discontinued at Knit Picks. I like the yarn well enough, but after working with top notch sock yarn, I don’t think I’ll buy Knit Picks sock yarn again. As for the pattern, it’s nice and simple and I know I’ll use again. I’ve set this pair aside for the time being to focus on a gift set for my father-in-law.

My father-in-law’s socks are made using the pattern Gentleman’s Socks with Lozenge Pattern by Nancy Bush from Knitting Vintage Socks. I’m using Zitron Trekking XXL in colorway 188. I absolutely love this sock yarn! I don’t know why I haven’t used it before now, but I will be sure to use it for more projects in the future!! The pattern is really  nice, too.

I also picked up a skein of Opal and a skein of Austermann for more socks. I love Austermann Step! It is one of the best sock yarns on the market and I have a boy who supports my fiber habit and wants more socks out of it. It’s a win-win situation!

Further, I finished Grammie’s cowl only to find that I bound off too tightly! I have to take it out and find another way of binding it off that won’t make it so tight. I’m thinking about putting my crochet skills to use here. More details on this to come.

Leave a Reply

