a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Cardigan of my Inexperience

Nothing new to report on the knitting scene. I still haven’t knit a stitch in over a week. However, I have a 3-day weekend coming up and I hope to crank out the rows! My goal is to finish (finally) the Sockotta sock. After that, I’m going to tackle that cardigan. I need to do something with it. In case you are new to the blog, I have a green cardigan in Peace Fleece that I have had nearly done for several months now. And by several, I mean since October.

I came to a realization with the cardigan, though; several very important discoveries: I didn’t know what I thought I knew. When I went into that cardigan, I thought I knew enough about knitting sweaters through the reading I’d done to not consult with the Keepers of Fiberphilia. I was also rushed, as Allan called me twice in the shop urging me to come home. (I had to get some job applications done to get in for a deadline and he was concerned I was going to run out of time with the yarn shopping.) So, I bought the pattern and yarn, thinking that a 38″ medium would be fine. Heh. Now that the whole thing is knit up, I’m realizing it is better suited to a small framed A-cup rather than my medium frame D-cup. Live and learn, right?

So now here I am with a cardigan that is complete, blocked and all, without button bands. I can’t decide whether to frog or press forward and then give it away. (To whom? I have no idea.) I’m also somewhat ashamed of it now that I recognize the twisted stitches. I did all that knitting before I realized I had been purling wrong all these years. (Another reason for social knitting!)

So, my dear readers, what would you do? Would you frog the whole thing and make it into something else? Or, would you press forward with the button bands and then give it away?

5 responses to “Cardigan of my Inexperience

  1. littlewit May 22, 2008 at 9:48 am

    How much do you love the yarn? 🙂 I am making socks right now that may be too big (granted yes socks, much smaller than a sweater) and I am leaning heavily toward finding someone with bigger feet to wear them. Although I am only up to the toes so ripping out won’t have lost me that much time.

  2. Amy May 22, 2008 at 10:25 am

    You could put it on consignment at All Things Under the Sun in down town. Just a thought

  3. Patty May 24, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Hmm. Good question. What would I do (after the inevitable stamping of feet, slamming of doors and moaning to the Knitting Goddess?)? I’d go on Ebay and figure out if I could get more yarn of the exact same lot and colour so I could start over (if I really, really loved the yarn and colour). If that didn’t work out (or I decided I could like without the cardie), I’d finish it and find a likely, lucky recipient.

  4. Patty June 8, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    You okay? Usual school end business?

  5. Jen June 9, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Ok. So I figured out what to do with the cardigan. Details forthcoming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

