a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Library Trip and Reading List

It’s Tuesday. And as I posted this morning, that means book day! I went to my local library today and picked out a great big stack of ’em. I really can’t wait until this weekend so I can start poking my way through. Here’s what came home:

The Afternoon Tea Book by Michael Smith – This book has a gorgeous two-tone cream and ivy green cover with a classic British painting of a man and woman having tea. This is what hooked me initially. Green is my favorite color and I love tea. Then I started looking through it. It has a whole section on the history and lore of tea. The pages are full of images that look like wood cut prints. It’s a beautiful book and should prove a joy to read.

The Human Story: Our History, From the Stone Age to Today by James C. Davis – I picked this one out because, simply put, I love anthropology, culture studies, and learning. That and I simply don’t know enough about our collective history. As a teacher, I feel it is important to be as educated as possible so I can help build bridges. I hope this book is a bridge-builder.

Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafasi – I have heard so many good things about this book which is why I picked it off the shelf initially. And then, as I looked at it closer, it grew even more on me. A memoir in books is an interesting way of expressing an existance and experience. Another book I love, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke has a similar idea captured therein. One of the characters, Meggie, was noticing that her older books seem heavier and thicker than they were when they were new. She figured this was because of all the memories trapped between the pages. I, too, can trace my life story through the books I’ve read. I can’t wait to read this one.

The next three are cook books I can’t wait to flip through.

The Vegetarian Family Cookbook by Nava Atlas – The cover caught my attention with the slate blue bowl holding a hearty and delicious looking soup. I then flipped through a little and it looked like it has some good stuff in it. More to come on this one soon.

No Red Meat by Brenda Shriver and Ann Tinsley – Allan and I eat very little red meat to begin with, but I thought it would be nice to get some ideas and think about variations on current favorites.

Almost Vegetarian: A Primer for Cooks Who are Eating Vegetarian Most of the Time, Chicken & Fish Some of the Time & Altogether Well All of the Time by Diana Shaw – With a title like that, who couldn’t take a peek or take it home? This describes our diet perfectly! Just flipping through the pages, I noticed lots of little boxes with tips and descriptions, so this should prove to be a highly valuable book to inform my cooking and dietary practices.

The photographs were taken about two months ago when there was still snow.

3 responses to “Library Trip and Reading List

  1. littlewit May 21, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Thank you! You reminded me to renew my books at the library today. šŸ™‚ I read Reading Lolita in Tehran and I found it quite interesting. Have you read the Princess series by Sasson? Those were also very good.

  2. jc May 21, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Look at those HUGE mounds of snow! Did you take that picture today?!

  3. Jen May 21, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Goodness, no. Those photographs were taken about 2 months ago. The snow is all gone now.

Leave a Reply

