a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Today's Run

I’m sorry if you’re getting sick of the running posts. I swear, after this one, I’ll post one summary weekly. Today Amy and I ran 3.25 miles (according to Map My Run) and we only had one .1 mile walk break! And we ran the whole thing faster than our normal pace, too, without being conscious of it. We also tackled two hills, one is long and steady, the other short and steep and at the very end of our run. I felt amazing after today’s run. By the end of this week I’ll be running four miles no problem. End of next week? Five! A half-marathon this fall will be within range if I keep this steady improvement. Amy’s thinking about running her third marathon. Maybe someday I’ll be at that level, but not anytime soon. As it is, I’ve been conscious of taking it slow and easy so I don’t stress my joints and muscles. I want to be sure my entire body gets stronger at the same rate. I’ve incorporated some gentle yoga and pilates exercises based on the text Pilates and  Yoga by Judy Smith, Emily Kelly, and Jonathan Monks. It’s been feeling really good.

One response to “Today's Run

  1. Amy May 6, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    don’t forget to squeeze a run in tonight! I did 3 this afternoon. Let me know what you end up doing :o)

Leave a Reply

