a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Racin' for the Strawberries

Setting aside the fear of losing my dear readers due to jealousy: who wouldn’t love to come home from work to hand-dipped chocolate covered strawberries! I have the best beau in all the world. I couldn’t keep from bragging especially after the photo came out so well. 🙂

Furthermore, I will not fear the pound put on by eating all that chocolate in one sitting because Amy and I are going to run a 5k on May 10. She messaged me earlier today to inform me of the fact. It’s the annual Mothers’ Day run in Augusta, Maine. It’s a good thing I’m mostly there! The date is in a week and a half! This is my first road race ever. Yes, you heard me right: first ever. I’ll post pictures of sweaty and tired me afterwards.

I also don’t fear the seated time it’ll take to finish my WIPs. I can never finish project sooner than I start new ones. I currently have the following items in progress:

  1. crocheted baby blanket
  2. Mission Falls socks
  3. Peace Fleece cardigan (damn those button bands!)
  4. Sockotta socks (1 down, the second halfway)
  5. Knit Picks Simple Stripes socks (just cast on)
  6. Bold striped Berroco Ultra alpaca scarf in a moss stitch for my future BIL
  7. Noro Niji garter stitch scarf
  8. and I’ll add an extra for a project I probably forgot about because it’s buried in my knitting basket

Phew. I love knitting, and I love to finish things, but I’ve learned that I’m much more of a process knitter than a completion knitter. I have no problem ripping a project out and starting all over again if it doesn’t come out just right. Although I say this and I have my Peace Fleece cardigan haunting me: I fear it is too small so I’ve been putting off the button bands so I don’t have to face the fact that it is probably not going to fit. This is my first ever sweater and I didn’t do the gauge swatch correctly. Erm, okay, I didn’t do a gauge swatch at all.

See, I had this idea in my head that because I was using the same size yarn and same size needle as called for that I’d have the perfect sweater roll off my needles without doing a gauge swatch. I also didn’t realize at the time that although I have a 38″ bra band that a 38″ bust wouldn’t fit. I should have at *least* knit the 40″, if not the 42″. Live and learn, I guess. Instead of being an oversized comfy cardigan, it’s going to be a fitted cropped jacket.

Anyhow, more pictures!

The Sockotta socks:

Knit Picks Simple Stripes sock:

Leave a Reply

